We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyed our evening”
Review of GoodWolfe Kitchen+Bar - CLOSED

GoodWolfe Kitchen+Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Yaletown & False Creek North
St. Albert
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thoroughly enjoyed our evening”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This place was actually recommended to us by a waiter at a restaurant on the same block where we had stopped for a drink. We were not disappointed. The chef/owner greeted us on our way in the door and we were offered seats at the bar - they were otherwise full. Staff were friendly and attentive. Food was awesome. Spent a couple of really enjoyable hours there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sixer_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    24
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
415 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“4 flavours of Grappa and counting”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Two moments stand out from our visit. OK, the food was great and original; the ambiance inviting; however it was the charm of our waitress ( Sarah) and the fact that the restaurant actually had a choices of Grappa that impressed my Italian business colleague. Bravo. He will certainly return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lloyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in vancouver!!!”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We went to Yale town to find a nice place to dine..
Walked past this restaurant and was surprised to see the chef waving us in..
Well we thought we should give it a try.
The food was incredible,
The mixer of ingredients would take you out of your comfort zone but,. Once tried everything worked together nicely.
I can't say that we have had a better experience for dinning ever before.
Went back for lunch next day and was just as happy.
Well done!

Helpful?
Thank taggy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“A great place to come in from the cold!”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We were downtown for the day and had heard good things about this restaurant. We were not disappointed. We were warmly greeted when came in on a chilly evening. The staff have a great attitude. It played out all evening long. We were shown to our table and had fun reading the commentary on the blackboard wall.

The menu is short, but there was a good mix of choices including clearly marked gluten free. The calamari and scallop appetizers were excellent. Great spicing and flavours. Salmon "Shwarma" and Beef Cheeks on country risotto were the mains and they also were wonderfully done and the plate presentation was particularly good for the Shwarma - no bread on this plate. The side of spicy greens were really good! The server was very knowledgeable and happy to share his knowledge of the ingredients for our dishes. A very good selection of drinks, wines and beers. The wines and beers had many items that I'd not come across before. Many wines can be ordered by the glass.

The atmosphere was quite energy filled. This is a great place for a casual dining alternative to the restaurant chains or to go for a drink! Two appetizers, two mains, one side, two glasses of wine came to $100 with tax.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Musiclovermax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yaletown's new best”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Amazing atmosphere, really personable staff, high quality fresh food everything looks to be made in house, good portions and best eggs Benny anywhere. I will be coming back again and again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GoodWolfe Kitchen+Bar also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing