We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue and great play”

Bard on the Beach Shakespeare Festival
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Bard on the Beach is one of Canada's largest not-for-profit, professional Shakespeare Festivals. Presented in a magnificent setting on the waterfront in Vancouver's Vanier Park, the Festival offers Shakespeare plays, related dramas, and several special events in two performance tents from June through September.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great venue and great play”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

If you are planning on being in Vancouver during the summer, this is the one way to get a lot of culture in while enjoying a great evening on the beach. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    73
    9
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our yearly theatre treat!”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Every summer we make sure we buy tickets to at least one Bard on the Beach performance. The setting with the sunset and ocean in the background makes for a truly westcoast theatre experience. The sets and costumes are always unique and well thought out and the acting is always superb.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RosemaryHeights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The past reinvented”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

One of our summer treats is attending Bard on the Beach. I've never been disappointed as they cleverly adapt costuming, sets to the splendour of works of Shakespeare. Whether it be a tragedy or comedy the drama is woven into stirring sensory experience. Their renditions are enjoyed by teens to seniors. Like the salmon we keep coming back to share in this tradition.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TopazBritishColumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Chris Gaze and company capture what I imagine to be the original "feel" of a Shakespeare play back in the days of the bard when you had "groundlings" and nobles rubbing shoulders. We go everytime there's a new production as well as repeat some of the ones we've already seen. What a great facet of our great city!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ken m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“A must experiance”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Christopher Gaze and him team always come through with a terrific Shakespeare presentation. The plays are always topnotch and performed in a beautiful setting.

The Chor Leoni men’s choir also has two performances there every year and they are absolutely eccentric, imaginary, and fantastic, all at the same time, great entertainment.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank tailes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bard on the Beach Shakespeare Festival also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Bard on the Beach Shakespeare Festival? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing