We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location, good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cactus Club Cafe

Cactus Club Cafe
Ranked #37 of 3,594 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Fusion, Canadian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Downtown
Somerset
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great location, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Looking for lunch to help combat jet lag in Vancouver with an 8 hour time difference I saw the Cactus Club Cafe. Found a table outside and ordered Cactus IPA and a duck club sandwich. The beer was great, cool and hoppy. The sandwich arrived promptly with a bowl of thin cut salty chips from potatoes with skins on. The filling was tasty if a little overdone on a nice fruit bread. Probably the most attratcive collection of waitresses I have seen in a long time if we are allowed to make comments like that.
Looking forward to a return visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ilminstertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    587
    557
    130
    33
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic for families with babies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

It's hard to find places in Vancouver that are accommodating to families with babies ... and serve alcohol. One such place is this Cactus Club. We've never had a problem bringing our baby and large stroller and we always got a nice table, overlooking the water (in most restaurants they give the families with babies the worst table). I sometimes come here with other moms and at one time we had 3 strollers around our table at lunch time and it wasn't a problem. They also don't mind breastfeeding. And the food is great too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank amj77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Incredible position, food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Cactus Club has two locations quite close to one another in downtown Vancouver. This one, overlooking the harbour, opened earlier this year and complements the other locations further up Burrard Street. It has unrivaled views across the water, and a prime location alongside the Olympic Cauldron.

On this occasion I tried a dish from each of the course menus - tuna sushi cones, sirloin steak with a 4-mushroom accompaniment and a white chocolate cheesecake. Service was brisk, and friendly. My server had been carefully inducted into the history of the club, its interesting art exhibits and the provenance of the food as well as offering matched wine suggestions. It's clearly establishing itself as a premier-tier restaurant in a crowded and competitive market.

Each course was presented in an appealing and innovative manner, down to micro cuts of cilantro and ginger with the tuna, and a varied selection of mushrooms and demi-glace with the steak, which is also grain-fed Alberta Angus certified - ultimately, it also tasted fantastic!

I don't have a sweet tooth, and usually choose cheese or nothing, but was swayed by the mix of tart berries alongside less cloying white chocolate cheesecake. It was a wise choice!

Really, quite an outstanding meal and one I hope to repeat.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NZSab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Impeccable Service, Spectacular Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

My family ate hear for lunch after a morning of touring and walking the Gastown area of Vancouver. This was the best meal we had in Vancouver. The location at Canada Place is gorgeous - right on the water overlooking Stanley Park and Vancouver Harbour. Everyone enjoyed their meal here. I had a short rib sandwich and my wife had fish tacos. The food was fabulous. The service was very attentive without being overbearing. The restaurant is smartly decorated and very comfortable. I really enjoyed having lunch here. The entrees are a bit pricey, but they have a good mix of sandwiches, salads and appetizers that are more reasonable. I agree with another review that if you can wait for a table overlooking the the harbour, it would be worth the wait.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KwajTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

The Szechuan chicken lettuce wraps changed my life. This was easily the best thing we ate on our trip. The outdoor seating was really nice and the drinks and other food was excellent too. The service was good and the prices were reasonable.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus Club Cafe also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Cactus Club Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing