We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only not so "snooty"!”
Review of Cactus Club Cafe

Cactus Club Cafe
Ranked #45 of 3,803 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“If only not so "snooty"!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My colleague and I walked in there as they were getting set up for lunch. We had just come from a business meeting and we were very formally dressed. They actually managed to look down on us because we were not quite "Vancouvery" enough and obviously from Toronto?
The pretty good lunch did not mitigate this rather poor first impression.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samir A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    636
    596
    138
    35
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Highland, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Prime Tourist Location, Great Restaurant”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The restaurant is in a prime location with great vistas of the bay. Decor and architecture is beautiful. When we went on a Thursday afternoon the wait was about 30 minutes long. However, it is worth the wait. Cocktails were good. Lettuce wraps were extraordinary. Fish tacos, spiced salmon rice bowl, and spagetti were very tasty. Service is excellent and the nice looking waitresses don't hurt.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MonGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Tourists and Locals Welcome”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

CCC had a great high-end casual feel. Low lighting and the buzz of laughter and conversation made this place seem like a hotspot for trendy people, but I didn't feel awkward in my flip flops (a tad underdressed). The drinks were tasty -- mojitos for me and beer for others. The food was delicious and presented well -- burgers of various sorts. Drinks, food, and service met my expectations for a high-end cafe in a prime location. (The prices matched.) My party and I ate, had great conversation, and the night was a fun-filled one. It was a good time despite the fact that a celebrity committed suicide in the vicinity earlier that day. I'd go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank appleface_sheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, service, and LOCATION!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

What a classically beautiful Vancouver summer evening. I had my birthday dinner here, and it was one of the best meals I've ever had. We got there early and sat at one of the inside tables. It was right next to the open-to-the-ceiling windows, though, so we were right in the fresh air and had a fantastic view overlooking the float planes, Coal Harbour, Burrard Inlet, and the North Shore mountains. For an appetizer, I recommend the butternut squash ravioli with prawns, and for dinner, try the spaghetti with Kobe meatballs. When a restaurant can cook something simple like spaghetti and add so much flavour in a light sauce, you know they're good. And for dessert, the waiter treated me to my very own dish of whipped cream! This was our second try to get in - the lineups are huge - but it's well worth the wait. It's right on the Jack Poole Plaza by the Olympic flame, so there's lots of room to sit or walk around and enjoy the views while you're waiting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere in Yaletown!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stopped by Cactus Club's Yaletown location on a recent trip to Vancouver. Their patio along with their watermelon margarita made for a perfect combination on a beautiful and sunny summer day! The sangria wasn't bad either! :) The ceviche had a tangy and refreshing twist on tradition and the bandara salad was excellent (staff was nice enough to switch out the chicken for salmon too).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vespa31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus Club Cafe also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Cactus Club Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing