We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“tasty tacos, long tables-shared, interesting drinks”

Tacofino Commissary
Ranked #181 of 3,705 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“tasty tacos, long tables-shared, interesting drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

busy place with lots of tasty tacos. these guys have a food truck and i kind of prefer to do their truck than their restuarant. its street food - but at least in the restaurant you can drink. Maybe some day vancouver will allow us to buy beer and margs off of the trucks! wouldnt that be something!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank krayon59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    40
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
194 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

I had the lingcod and chicken karaage tacos. So good. The nachos and salsa were terrific and if you like key lime pie have there dessert.
I will be going here every time I return to vancouver.
No reservations so you may be waiting to get a seat.
Worth the wait

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

I went there with my 2 kids (ages 9+11) and my sister (an expat living in Hongkong). We had the pork jowl taco, fish taco, tuna taco and the chips and salsa. We also had the churros for dessert. All very very good. The tacos are pretty big and can be messy. Good ambiance...cool recycled materials.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pammyvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best fish tacos ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

It's a bit of a trek from downtown Vancouver over to the East Hastings location, but it's worth it. The food at Tacofino Commissary is straight forward, and all of it is fresh and tasty, offering some intriguing flavour combinations. I had the best fish tacos ever.... nicely crisp, non-greasy perfectly cooked ling cod bites with shaved greens topped with a heap of homemade tomato salsa. I ate two orders.. and had the cauliflower on the side. Washed down with beer.

The real delight is that you don't have to go across town to get the same quality fare for lunch, you can get it at their truck parked at Dunsmuir and Burrard between 11:30 - 3 pm. Don't miss this people... you won't be disappointed. There may be a short line but it's worth the wait, and cheap and cheerful. Tacofino truck is a culinary gem.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Witsend99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
227 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Went to the food truck for lunch.

Amazing food! We had the fish tacos ($5/taco), fish burrito ($10) and chicken burrito ($11). All three were amazing, chicken burrito was the best. Well worth it!

Friendly service and there is always a line!

Helpful?
Thank linh88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tacofino Commissary also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Tacofino Commissary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing