We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Coffee and doughnuts to dream about” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 49th Parallel Roasters Cafe

49th Parallel Roasters Cafe
Ranked #307 of 3,606 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: South Main
NS
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Coffee and doughnuts to dream about”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

While visiting Vancouver I was on the hunt for great coffee and through a blogger found 49th parallel. Visited both locations in the course of my stay. Both locations were great and the coffee and doughnuts ( lucky's in store) were fantastic. I bought some to take home and sadly finished my last doughnut last night. Heartily recommend the cruller, cinnamon, croissants and the maple bacon fritter. I did buy a bag of Sulawesi coffee beans ( loved my americano in store) and will open that once my current beans are done. While service was good overall I did find the staff far more friendly and helpful at the Main Street location.

Looking forward to my next trip and my coffee and doughnuts.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bookluver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    32
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Heavenly salted caramel donuts from Lucky donuts with a yummy cappuccino”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

You must stop at 49th Parallel for a luscious cup of coffee and treat yourself to a decadent dessert. It is a lovely restaurant with friendly staff. You will be charged up to do some fun shopping on West 4th Avenue in Vancouver. This great place is situated next door to Purdy's chocolates.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janshine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Doughnuts to die for”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We had heard about the doughnuts from this café and bought several to enjoy with coffee. They were expensive but delicious and were available in several different tastes. We had double chocolate, old fashioned, pistachio and orange and salted caramel and savoured them

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Halekulani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic freshly roasted coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Go to West 4th street. One of my favorite streets in Vancouver. You must go to 49th Parallel for a freshly roasted coffee and grab a salted caramel or other donuts from the selection of Lucky donuts. Go on and treat yourself.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janshine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Perfection in coffee + doughnuts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

It is hard to find an error at 49th Parallel. The coffee is exquisite, the doughnuts delicious, the decor authentic, and the service great. Always worth the visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tenmile1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 49th Parallel Roasters Cafe also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to 49th Parallel Roasters Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing