We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A cullinary excellence combining unforgettable flavours with great quality and food ethics” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forage

Forage
Reserve with OpenTable
Forage is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 3,677 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Canadian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Robson Street
Cross street: Jervis St.
Transit: 1/2 block east
Description: Chef Whittaker’s vision features dishes that are unpretentious and innovatively prepared using products sourced from local and organic farmers, fishers and producers whenever possible. These combine for a menu featuring snacks such as “crackling & popcorn”; a variety of creative “boards” and “irons” to share; tasty “plates” to nosh on together or enjoy solo as a main; and desserts for a sweet (and a bit savoury) finish.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A cullinary excellence combining unforgettable flavours with great quality and food ethics”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

I was so fortunate to get to personally meet with Executive Chef Chris Whittaker at Forage who has an extreme passion for quality food and takes great pride in sourcing his ingredients as locally as possible to offer his guests the most intense flavours direct from nature! To read more about his philosophy and our talk on why Vancouver's food landscape is something to be desired in 2014 please go to http://foodgirluk.com/2014/05/08/the-importance-of-localism-a-talk-with-chef-chris-whittaker-about-why-he-is-so-proud-of-british-columbias-food-culture-in-2014/

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Foodgirluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    560
    208
    66
    19
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“excellent breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Forage is on Robson St. in an urban setting. Many neighborhood diners, especially at breakfast. Delicious oatmeal and fruit with toast and locally made jams, mushroom omelets, pancakes, friendly staff, warm vibe.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank travelor24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
124 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A delicious evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

I loved everything about Forage. Wonderful staff, great food for sharing where creativity and local food sourcing was produced so well. I can't wait to go back!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank miss-b20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 530 helpful votes
“Delicious, unique, and healthy too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

What a great find! Locally sourced, organic/sustainable delicacies combined as unique taste sensations. Served tapas style, you will want to try more dishes than you can consume. The stinging nettle risotto was heavenly, the elk surprisingly tender, the halibut perfectly moist and the foraged mixed mushrooms delightful! Good service. A meat draw Sun-Thurs at 8:30.

Pleasant atmosphere: would be nice for an evening drink and snack. Dinner for 2 with 5 dishes (quite filling) and 2 drinks was about $115. Not cheap, but not outrageous, and good value considering the quality. Attached to the Listel Hotel on Robson.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank whirledgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“50 in 52 Vancouver Review”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

THE STATS - Out of 10

Taste: 8 - Burger and charcuterie plank get 10's, but the rest gets 6's.
Creativity: 7 - I feel like Forage deserves some points for creativity, but besides the elk and bison burger patty nothing was really WOW in terms of creativity. However, I gave them points for the traditional French preparation of the pate and mousse. We would expect every Montreal restaurant to use the same preparation method, but we didn't expect it in a trendy Vancouver joint.
Service: 4 - As I mentioned earlier, the service was crap at the bar. We expected much more from the staff, especially since they preach "local, local, local." You can't just serve local; you have to serve the locals. And serve them well. Our waiter at the table was much better, but he was rushed through no fault of his own.
Bang for your buck: 8 - The plates are very reasonably priced for the volume of food, quality of ingredients, and variety. Stephen's thoughts when he got the bill were, "it's wasn't as bad as I thought it was going to be."
Overall experience: 7.5 - Some of the food was fantastic, others were just good, others we could have done without. The service was not where it needed to be for the type of atmosphere they are trying to achieve. We've been spoiled by the staff at Trois Petits Bouchons, Le Bremner, the now closed Baxo (such a shame) and Garde Manger. All of these Montreal legends are known for staff that are passionate about food and have their co-workers' backs. Forage achieving the same quality of staff would be a great improvement.

Would I go back? Stephen says yes, but I say maybe. I was a little disappointed, but Stephen insists on trying more menu items.
Who would I recommend it to? Adult couples. Do not bring your kids under 16 here under any circumstances, even if they are of the well-behaved variety. It just isn't the place. I didn't feel like the plates were as share-able as Forage thinks, so I'm less inclined to recommend it to a big group. If you go with a group, order multiples of each item. It's casual enough and has a suitable price point for a nice, any weekend dinner, but trendy and up-scale enough for a first date or special occasion. It has a great balance in that respect.
For what occasion? Any. Romantic date, birthday dinner with friends, couple's night out, drinks and small bites after dinner. Endless possibilities.
It was better than: The really good parts of the meal were better than l'Abattoir, Fish House in Stanley Park, and Coast.
It wasn't as good as: The Flying Pig or Oakwood (reviews to come!)
Expect: You need a reservation to get a table. We made a reservation and still had to wait at the bar. Maybe it was an isolated event, but the staff was over-whelmed. The crowd is varying, so no matter who you are, you won't feel out of place. The vibe is unpretentious and welcoming overall.

Top 50 Worthy? I'm on the fence. Some parts were epic, some parts were disappointing. If Forage can achieve more consistency of great flavours on their menu, I would label them as being Top 50. I'll probably give them another chance at some point and decide then. This visit was a little too variable.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 50in52Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forage also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Forage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing