We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Forage

Forage
Reserve with OpenTable
Forage is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 3,730 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Canadian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Robson Street
Cross street: Jervis St.
Transit: 1/2 block east
Description: Chef Whittaker’s vision features dishes that are unpretentious and innovatively prepared using products sourced from local and organic farmers, fishers and producers whenever possible. These combine for a menu featuring snacks such as “crackling & popcorn”; a variety of creative “boards” and “irons” to share; tasty “plates” to nosh on together or enjoy solo as a main; and desserts for a sweet (and a bit savoury) finish.
Keerbergen, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Good quality breakfast with also healthy options. Atmosphere is cosy and the staff very friendly and helpful. They serve also dinner but we didn't had the chance yet to try out..

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    592
    219
    70
    21
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very interesting place”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Great place. Really interesting food. They really try interesting ingredients and very local and in season. The portion sizes are small - but that was OK with me.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank awineguy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“New Fave!”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We just returned from a 4 day weekend in Vancouver ( the "Wet" Coast:) where we discovered a new favourite dining place..Forage. We had fantastic breakfasts each morning, including items like turkey sausage hash with poached eggs and crispy potatoes to brioche French Toast with maple candied bacon and rye spiked blueberries! Dinner was equally fabulous with choices such as braised bison tongue with fresh made fettucini and truffle and morels sauce to line caught halibut with Fiddlheads (we are big fiddlehead fans, but they are hard to find in the west) Service was impeccable and the wine list, which featured many great Canadian choices, was perfect. We think Chef Chris and his team do an amazing job and reccommend Forage to anyone who enjoys organic, locally grown, creative food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank 2626foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“The best meal I've had in a long time!”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Everything about my meal here was excellent! Came in with a group and none of us had been in before. We didn't know it was share-plates style, but it was more fun this way and the prices aren't so steep that you can't order several items. Every single thing we ordered was absolutely phenomenal and there was nothing we tried that was "so-so" or didn't like. Every single thing. I myself tried at least eight items. I have tried many places around town meant to be more high end or trendy and always leave slightly disappointed. Not here. The flavours of every dish were so well done! The servers were also very well versed and knew exactly what was in every dish, and they did their jobs well without being pretentious or overbearing. The concept of farm to table is originally what made us want to try this place, and now I will definitely be back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Elegant Casual”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I shared an excellent evening at Forage recently. The food is amazing and the atmosphere is upscale casual. Great food for sharing as everything is tasty, so would be perfect choice for a couples evening or a group of friends.

Helpful?
3 Thank Lobbster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forage also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Forage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing