We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You don't want to miss this pizza”

Via Tevere Pizzeria
Ranked #154 of 3,732 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Commercial Drive
Cloverdale, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“You don't want to miss this pizza”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

OMG - it's always a good sign when you arrive at a spot on an unassuming street and the place is PACKED! It was so packed that we sat at the bar without a regret!!!

The wait staff was super busy but still made us feel welcome and valued as customers.... Our server (the bartender) answered any questions that we had!

We picked the Capricciosa pizza and shared it. It was a bit of a wait but completely worth it. You can tell they struggle to balance in-house orders with pickup orders... you could see the boxes flying out the door.

We had to ask them to cut it (not sure why?) but it was the perfect heat and balance of flavours - and right size for us to be sharing.

The desserts looked amazing but we didn't indulge - try to save room if you can because the plates we saw go by looked AMAZING and good for sharing!

Remember to expect to wait unless you're waiting at the door when they open because it's a popular place. The patio is nice and heated if you get a chance to sit out there too.

All in all - great date night, girl's night or family place to go!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaitieBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    54
    10
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“If you truly love pizza...”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

You will visit Via Tevere. Authentic Neapolitan style pizza cook quickly in a smokin' hot wood fired oven. Busy place, usually lined up (for a good reason), but I think the tables turn over pretty quick.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“As Close to Naples as You will Get outside Italy”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We've had the famous Naples pizza and pizza that is just as good, although different, in Rome (Da Poeta in Trastevere is worth every minute of the lengthy wait). And we've tried many places in Vancouver. And this is as close as we have come to the authentic Neopolitan pizza outside Naples. And the differences between via Tevere's and the version we had in Naples (at one of the two famous places across the street from each other) is very subjective - the flavours in Italy seemed just a little more pronounced and the pizza a little less uniform in appearance. We have never had buffalo mozzarella outside southern Italy (even in Northern Italy) that tasted like the authentic thing from the region around Naples. But I could very fairly be accused of splitting hairs, here. Make no mistake...via Tevere's is excellent, authentic Neopolitan pizza. Thin and soft in the middle, puffy and slightly black around the outside, a sauce that isn't too thick and a minimum of good quality toppings. We also had the Caprese salad and antipasto platter. Highly recommend them both. Go and put your name on the wait list and wait to be texted for your table. If our experience was any indication, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SunFunFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Almost perfect.”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Great Pizza! Lots of great beer choices! The service and food where perfect. The only thing that distracted from the experience where the guests hovering around our table while waiting for a table of there own. Via Tevere provides a covered heated seating area in front of the restaurant guest should be asked to use it and not hover around the tables while waiting.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It's true!”
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Best pizza in Vancouver, not only that but beer, cocktails the service was awesome!
You have to try the red house wine it's amazing with you pizza!

Helpful?
1 Thank Lalo_Zepeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Via Tevere Pizzeria also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Via Tevere Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing