We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you truly love pizza...”

Via Tevere Pizzeria
Ranked #147 of 3,704 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Commercial Drive
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“If you truly love pizza...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

You will visit Via Tevere. Authentic Neapolitan style pizza cook quickly in a smokin' hot wood fired oven. Busy place, usually lined up (for a good reason), but I think the tables turn over pretty quick.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    53
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“As Close to Naples as You will Get outside Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We've had the famous Naples pizza and pizza that is just as good, although different, in Rome (Da Poeta in Trastevere is worth every minute of the lengthy wait). And we've tried many places in Vancouver. And this is as close as we have come to the authentic Neopolitan pizza outside Naples. And the differences between via Tevere's and the version we had in Naples (at one of the two famous places across the street from each other) is very subjective - the flavours in Italy seemed just a little more pronounced and the pizza a little less uniform in appearance. We have never had buffalo mozzarella outside southern Italy (even in Northern Italy) that tasted like the authentic thing from the region around Naples. But I could very fairly be accused of splitting hairs, here. Make no mistake...via Tevere's is excellent, authentic Neopolitan pizza. Thin and soft in the middle, puffy and slightly black around the outside, a sauce that isn't too thick and a minimum of good quality toppings. We also had the Caprese salad and antipasto platter. Highly recommend them both. Go and put your name on the wait list and wait to be texted for your table. If our experience was any indication, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SunFunFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Almost perfect.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Great Pizza! Lots of great beer choices! The service and food where perfect. The only thing that distracted from the experience where the guests hovering around our table while waiting for a table of there own. Via Tevere provides a covered heated seating area in front of the restaurant guest should be asked to use it and not hover around the tables while waiting.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It's true!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Best pizza in Vancouver, not only that but beer, cocktails the service was awesome!
You have to try the red house wine it's amazing with you pizza!

Helpful?
1 Thank Lalo_Zepeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Gustosissima!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

If you want traditional Italian pizza Via Tevere Pizzeria is an absolute must!

The ingredients are fresh and oh so full of flavor – and the authentic wood-fired oven makes you feel like you’re enjoying dinner in Italy!

Be prepared to wait, but it’s definitely worth it. Mangiare, Mangiare!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kari l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Via Tevere Pizzeria also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Via Tevere Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing