We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$318
$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$332
$323
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$339
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$316
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$265
$252
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$245
$211
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fairmont Pacific Rim(Vancouver)
$378
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Fairmont Waterfront(Vancouver)
$528
$401
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$306
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$237
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (459)
Filter reviews
459 results
Traveler rating
290
126
22
12
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
290
126
22
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfirst nationssocial enterpriseaboriginal artistsbannockmoon roomdowntown eastsidegreat initiativehomeless peopleyogurtboutique hotelgastown areawater pressure in the showereast hastingsvancouver experiencegreat boutiquestay there againbreakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 459 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2017

Visited Vancouver for a concert (Tom Petty...RIP). This hotel is only a short walk away from both Rogers and BC Place. It is also convenient for what's left of Chinatown, for the hop-on, hop-off bus and Gastown. The room was a bit small but comfortable and well maintained. The breakfast was very tasty. The cost of the room was, for Vancouver, very good value. So far this all warrants a 5 star rating. The only downside is the parking situation which gives a glimpse at "the other side" of Vancouver. Hastings street is a couple of blocks away and some of the people from there sleep/live in the alley which is also access to the parking. We had absolutely no problems. We also didn't access the parking at night. Kudos to Todd, the source of so much information, the breakfast guy and a pleasant hospitality professional!

Room Tip: A street view would be better than our alley view.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROBERT N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2017

Love the authentic Aboriginal art vibe of Skwachàys Lodge, and talk about location! It’s right at the Chinatown Gate, 4 blocks from Gastown and only 3 km from Stanley Park. So impressed with the works in the gallery (both beautiful and surprisingly affordable!!). Be sure to check out the carved totem table in the breakfast room by First Nations artist, Eric Parnell. And yes, a breakfast of baked goodies, yogurt and beverages was included! You can also order light bites, local beer and wines. We stayed in the Canadiana Suite, #601, which gave us views of the north shore mountains, bonus! It’s also a non-profit hotel which supports the local Aboriginal community. Plus, there’s a smudge room and a rooftop sweat lodge. The only reason I didn’t give Skwachàys Lodge a 5/5 is because of its' downtown Eastside location, which has a sketchy rep. BUT there’s 24/7 underground parking, and all the staff were amazingly friendly. I’d stay here again anytime ;)

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the north shore mountains!
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kahnni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2017

We really liked the big room we had at the Skwachays Hotel. We also loved the fact that they do something back for the aboriginal community, it really is a social enterprise. The breakfast was not that big, but really nice.

Room Tip: We really the room on the upper level on the front side
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roell-WeAreTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017

I want to start this review off by saying how unique this hotel is. It is already cool enough that the lobby is an art gallery filled with great aboriginal pieces, but they took it to the next level in the rooms. We had the "moon room." Beautifully painted and great colors atypical of the traditional hotel room. The bed was very comfortable and the air flow was excellent. It smelled very clean and appeared clean at first glance, but I will say that they missed some spots. There was gum stuck to the baseboard along with several dust bunnies. The water pressure in the shower was lacking and our drain was clogged up enough that by the end of the shower I was standing in an inch of water. My least favorite part of our experience at Skwachays Lodge was the view. Although I was already sort of expecting this from reading other reviews, I was not prepared for how unpleasant it was. Our balcony looked directly at the brick exterior of the apartments next to us and those balconies. This was made worse, I think, by how close it was. A very agile person could in theory jump from one balcony to the next. The hotel is also right on the edge of more unfavorable neighborhoods, but this never made us feel unsafe. There are homeless people who linger in the area near the front of the hotel, but they never threatened us. Even at 11:00 pm we weren't afraid. The hotel itself has put in several security measures that ensure their guests safety. The staff was fantastic, friendly and helpful.

So to summarize: This hotel is different from any other and offers a unique experience. The staff are helpful and friendly. The hotel is in a rougher area, but the hotel is itself very safe. This is absolutely not a hotel with a view. I think it was a little overpriced for where it was located and what you were limited to seeing out your window.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Micah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2017

Very welcoming, interesting and well run hotel in convenient location for Gastown Chinatown and central Vancouver.
However the immediate neighbourhood is rough with unfortunate people sleeping on the street etc. It could be a bit too daunting for some later at night, particular people on their own.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews