We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$318
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$333
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$339
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$316
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$265
$252
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$245
$211
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$305
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fairmont Pacific Rim(Vancouver)
$378
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Fairmont Waterfront(Vancouver)
$569
$402
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$237
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (459)
Filter reviews
459 results
Traveler rating
290
126
22
12
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
290
126
22
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfirst nationssocial enterpriseaboriginal artistsbannockmoon roomdowntown eastsidegreat initiativehomeless peopleyogurtboutique hotelgastown areawater pressure in the showereast hastingsvancouver experiencegreat boutiquestay there againbreakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 459 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2017

We really liked the big room we had at the Skwachays Hotel. We also loved the fact that they do something back for the aboriginal community, it really is a social enterprise. The breakfast was not that big, but really nice.

Room Tip: We really the room on the upper level on the front side
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roell-WeAreTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017

I want to start this review off by saying how unique this hotel is. It is already cool enough that the lobby is an art gallery filled with great aboriginal pieces, but they took it to the next level in the rooms. We had the "moon room." Beautifully painted and great colors atypical of the traditional hotel room. The bed was very comfortable and the air flow was excellent. It smelled very clean and appeared clean at first glance, but I will say that they missed some spots. There was gum stuck to the baseboard along with several dust bunnies. The water pressure in the shower was lacking and our drain was clogged up enough that by the end of the shower I was standing in an inch of water. My least favorite part of our experience at Skwachays Lodge was the view. Although I was already sort of expecting this from reading other reviews, I was not prepared for how unpleasant it was. Our balcony looked directly at the brick exterior of the apartments next to us and those balconies. This was made worse, I think, by how close it was. A very agile person could in theory jump from one balcony to the next. The hotel is also right on the edge of more unfavorable neighborhoods, but this never made us feel unsafe. There are homeless people who linger in the area near the front of the hotel, but they never threatened us. Even at 11:00 pm we weren't afraid. The hotel itself has put in several security measures that ensure their guests safety. The staff was fantastic, friendly and helpful.

So to summarize: This hotel is different from any other and offers a unique experience. The staff are helpful and friendly. The hotel is in a rougher area, but the hotel is itself very safe. This is absolutely not a hotel with a view. I think it was a little overpriced for where it was located and what you were limited to seeing out your window.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Micah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2017

Very welcoming, interesting and well run hotel in convenient location for Gastown Chinatown and central Vancouver.
However the immediate neighbourhood is rough with unfortunate people sleeping on the street etc. It could be a bit too daunting for some later at night, particular people on their own.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2017

The location is wonderful, adjacent to China Town, and an easy walk to the water taxis. East cab ride to the airport, and an easy walk to the sports arena. I will stay here again when I'm in Vancouver

Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2017

Travelocity saved our trip. Skwachays Lodge cancelled our reservation w/ less than 24 hours notice. We have yet to hear what the issue was w/ the lodge that it had to close. We heard about the cancellation thru Travelocity and they even covered the upcharge as we could not find a hotel that was not full w/ this last minute notice and in a foreign country.

Room Tip: NA as we ended up not staying
Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank bunnyportershirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews