We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service and family room”
Review of Skwachays Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Skwachays Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“excellent service and family room”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

quite well located, near to Chinatown. We were not bothered by the homeless drop-in center nearby at all, no one was aggressive and they never bothered us.

we stayed in the family room, which had a separate room and a small queen. the main room had 2 twins. very roomy, bright and comfy beds.

Excellent service!!

Room Tip: The family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cortecera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    98
    16
    8
    9
See reviews for
71
155
29
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed on September 7 for one night with my partner (room 508). This place is not the Fairmont or Westin, nor does it try to be. It is a small, First Nations-oriented "lodge" that provides secure, clean, and comfortable short-term accommodations for a very reasonable price. The staff are trying VERY hard to make it a rewarding experience for guests, and it is one of the best values in an otherwise expensive city.

The Lodge is located in what has long been a "sketchy" part of town, but what is now quickly becoming a very urban, active, and entertainment-oriented part of the downtown core (we were a five minute walk from our "Eagles" concert at Rogers Arena). There are numerous interesting bars and restaurants in the immediate area, and we did not feel unsafe walking the neighbourhood (although there are a lot of "interesting characters" on the streets - think of the "Tenderloin District" of San Francisco, without the threat of violence).

The security is good (pass cards for the parking garage, the after-hours entrance, and the elevator). The room was basic, quiet, and very clean. There was a balcony large enough to sit on, and there was not a lot of traffic noise (we looked over Pender Street). The bed was very soft. The bathroom was average sized with the usual amenities, but no issues with water pressure or temperature. There was television and wi-fi included,with a comfortable work station. The room lighting could use some improvement, and the air conditioning unit looked like something from the space shuttle (possibly louder than the space shuttle..) but we turned it off (on a very warm night) and just left our balcony door open a crack and we were fine.

This property is certainly not trying to compete with a larger hotel, but is far more fun than a "brand X" budget chain-motel. There is an adequately stocked common kitchen on the main floor, and interesting native art throughout the lobby area (they were even preparing for an upcoming showing). If you want a break from the larger hotels, if you are open-minded and want something interesting for a night, and if you are trying to save money on accommodations in Vancouver then this place is worth considering.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid of the street noise, the balconies are designed to deflect it. The south facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a-canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for the first time. Recently opened and very modern. Rooms are well appointed and spacious. Service is personal and attentive. The feel of the place is very positive. Obviously the location is convenient, but not far from a dicey part of town. That said, the whole area is gentrifying and the area's poor reputation is overstated. I felt secure throughout my stay.

I will make this hotel a key part of my future travel plans to Vancouver.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ehebertdaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is the last time I book a hotel without READING the reviews first. (I normally just look at the overall ratings, which DID NOT prepare me for this place.)

First of all, we couldn't even find the place, because the entrance to the hotel is through this little hole-in-the-wall gallery. When I called for directions, the person I spoke to on the phone assured me I was on the wrong side of Pender (E. Pender vs. W. Pender), even though I wasn't. Then, when we finally got to the hotel and checked in at the desk, the person there tried to charge me the entire amount of our stay - including the $250+ that was pre-paid through http://Hotels.com. (Also, parking is extra, and their lot is super limited so be prepared for that.)

When we finally got to our room, we found that it was super small and very bare-bones. The bed has just a regular metal frame, the TV is a giant tube set that hums loudly when you turn it on, and the windows and balcony were unusable because they looked directly into other people's residences (all of which were within 30 feet of us). Housekeeping was awkward the next morning, as they don't give you "do not disturb" signs to put out, so I had not one, but two people try to come into the room while I was getting dressed, and had to yell at them through the door that we were fine and didn't need our bed made.

With that said, the room, though small, was clean, and was fine for just sleeping. If you're planning to be out and about in downtown the whole time you stay here, I think this place is probably fine. But if you plan to spend any amount of time in your room (which we expected to do at least a bit of, since this was our anniversary weekend), I don't recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank torigottlieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Here is location no. 6 around the latest biz trip for Canada.
Arrived in style by Tofino Air at Vancouver Harbour airport downtown, a nice older guy working at the parking garage called us a cab what arrived within a minute and onwards for the hotel.
The driver had no idea about it, but with the street shown on the map we arrived not that long thereafter. A nice welcome from an aboriginal young woman and also an old guy taking care of the first nations art gallery. Top floor was requested and prepared, facing the rear side of the building, no noise beside some talking on one of the balconys. The room spacious, Ikea style furniture, sure ok for us and Wifi worked well.
Well the location is really good from the first view, Gastown just a couple of blocks away, Canada Place in walking distance, Chinatown beside, but on the other hand side be prepared for Downtown Eastside with all it´s alcohol and drug addicted people not that far away.
Everything ok for us in the end also in the evening. No restaurant on offer, Tim Hortons around the corner saved us breakfast.
Downsides?. Well housekeeping needs some improvement. Not that nice when you step really wet out of the shower only to notice that there is no hairdryer around and while you´re desperate search you notice further some used old towels in one drawer and also there are plenty of plastic bags stored in another drawer. Who knows why?.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLIEGER67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We wanted a hotel as close as possible to Gastown and decided to plump for this one. Initially we were pleased with the rooms when we arrived with our own parking space in a secure garage, we immediately noticed quite a few beggers, tramps and drug takers hanging around. Our children did not feel comfortable and neither did we, especially in the evening. We thought the hotel would provide breakfast only to be informed they stopped doing it although there are plenty of cafes nearby. We did enjoy Vancouver, so much to do. Not a cheap place to visit but definetely worthwhile.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davei_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, CAlifornia, USA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Downtown Vancouver is not as big as we thought and this hotel was in walking distance to everything that we wanted to see...Gastown, Canada Place, Stanley Park (we stopped for lunch on the way), Science Center, Waterbus to Granville Island, Casino, and Chinatown. Room had the essentials...free wifi, mini fridge, TV/cable (didn't use), and comfy bed. Very secure building and separate secure parking garage. There is a medical clinic a couple of doors down from this hotel. They people look a little shabby but none of them gave us any issues and said anything to us. The transients that you will see periodically were very under the radar. Not at all aggressive like I've seen in other downtown cities in the US.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 6th floor towards the back. No issues with sound other than the white noise made...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathieH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,811 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,448 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,660 reviews
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 92 in Vancouver
2,161 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skwachays Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skwachays Lodge

Property: Skwachays Lodge
Address: 31 Pender St W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 1R3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Skwachays Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art, Culture, and Exceptional Hospitality Canada's first Aboriginal arts hotel, Skwachays Lodge, combines art and culture with exceptional hospitality. Eighteen one-of-a-kind guest suites, designed by local Aboriginal artists and Vancouver interior designers, tell stunning visual stories about First Nations culture and feature original artwork created by the participating artists. Centrally located in Vancouver's historic Gastown district, Skwachays Lodge is surrounded by acclaimed restaurants and popular attractions, making it an ideal location from which to explore the rest of the city. Offering the highest level of personalized service and premium in-suite amenities, Skwachays Lodge ensures guests enjoy a comfortable and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Skwachays Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing