We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“My Views of the View” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tap & Barrel - Olympic Village

Tap & Barrel - Olympic Village
Reserve with OpenTable
Tap & Barrel - Olympic Village is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #222 of 3,662 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $11 - $19
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Southeast False Creek
Description: The heart of the neighbourhood - celebrating life with the best products that BC has to offer. We serve the province's best selection of local craft beer and premium wines on tap, and our regional food is locally sourced and made from scratch. Our home is your home... welcome to Tap & Barrel!
vancouver
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“My Views of the View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

With one of the best waterfront views in the City, The Tap and Barrel will surely succeed. Parking in the area is almost non existent so it's best to park a little ways away and walk in. Both patio's, top and bottom, are huge and very active. Not a place to go for a quiet drink. There is lots going on in the adjacent square and seawall. The food was OK, nothing inspiring, but acceptable and a big notch above typical pub grub. There are lots of beers to choose from and they give samples to try. It's a great place to bring and out of town visitor or just hang with friends. This place is more about, the city and the view and not the dining (food) experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wayne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    104
    47
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Place and good gluten menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

I ate here with a group of about 15 friends.
We had a seating area upstairs which had great views of the stadium, Science world and false Creek. If the weather had been been better we could have sat outside.Still the inside was nice.
The ambience was really good,

The waitresses were very helpful and didnt have a problem taking orders for such a large group, and seperated the bill easily enough. My gf has a gluten allergy and was delighted to have a seperate gluten menu which included a burger and a bun. which apparently is rare to find. I opted for the Chicken Salad which was fantastic. Everyone in the group was very satisfied with the food they had and it was reasonably priced too. Beers came in at 7 dollars each, a bit expensive but for Vancouver that is about average.

I would recommend this plac. Its good to go for casual drinks and meal or even on a date.

If there is a big group of you I would make a reservation even if its a midweek night

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarge4280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place for drinks on the patio - just eat before you go!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Awesome view of False Creek and downtown core from their patio (upstairs and downstairs). Good vibe - casual, up-beat without the pretentiousness of other (chain) restaurant and bars.

Beware, have tried the food on multiple occasions - couldn't even finish the mussels, fries came out FROZEN once, appies and most other things on the menu are way overpriced. The only thing worth trying is the PB & J burger.

Otherwise, a great place to go with friends on a sunny day!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ms_Y_Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“BC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Great place in the Olympic Village. Had lunch on the second floor patio, fantastic view over False Creek with BC Park and Rogers Arena directly across the water and able to enjoy the boats. They only serve BC wines and beers which is a great way to become more immersed in what the province has to offer. We had the blackened chicken burger and tap greens both excellent. Good atmosphere.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adriana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
207 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“great view, good food....mostly view & service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We came here for late lunch on Tuesday. 3 of us sat on the outside upper terrace on a HOT afternoon. We had good beers and LOTS of food. nephew had grilled chicken burger and fries and fried pickle..first time I had taste of fried pickle...good, and better than I thought. Food was quick. I had Taps fusion salad wit prawns...yummy. Daughter had vegie burger and salad. She was happy. Great water view. Not cheap, but friendly and good and plentiful. We took the aquabus afterward....reviewed separately.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank lid_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tap & Barrel - Olympic Village also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Tap & Barrel - Olympic Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing