We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“My Views of the View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tap & Barrel - Olympic Village

Tap & Barrel - Olympic Village
Reserve with OpenTable
Tap & Barrel - Olympic Village is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #281 of 3,537 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $11 - $19
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Southeast False Creek
Description: The heart of the neighbourhood - celebrating life with the best products that BC has to offer.We serve the province's best selection of local craft beer and premium wines on tap, and our comfort food is locally sourced and made from scratch.Our home is your home... welcome to Tap & Barrel!
vancouver
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“My Views of the View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

With one of the best waterfront views in the City, The Tap and Barrel will surely succeed. Parking in the area is almost non existent so it's best to park a little ways away and walk in. Both patio's, top and bottom, are huge and very active. Not a place to go for a quiet drink. There is lots going on in the adjacent square and seawall. The food was OK, nothing inspiring, but acceptable and a big notch above typical pub grub. There are lots of beers to choose from and they give samples to try. It's a great place to bring and out of town visitor or just hang with friends. This place is more about, the city and the view and not the dining (food) experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wayne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    90
    43
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Place and good gluten menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I ate here with a group of about 15 friends.
We had a seating area upstairs which had great views of the stadium, Science world and false Creek. If the weather had been been better we could have sat outside.Still the inside was nice.
The ambience was really good,

The waitresses were very helpful and didnt have a problem taking orders for such a large group, and seperated the bill easily enough. My gf has a gluten allergy and was delighted to have a seperate gluten menu which included a burger and a bun. which apparently is rare to find. I opted for the Chicken Salad which was fantastic. Everyone in the group was very satisfied with the food they had and it was reasonably priced too. Beers came in at 7 dollars each, a bit expensive but for Vancouver that is about average.

I would recommend this plac. Its good to go for casual drinks and meal or even on a date.

If there is a big group of you I would make a reservation even if its a midweek night

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarge4280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place for drinks on the patio - just eat before you go!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Awesome view of False Creek and downtown core from their patio (upstairs and downstairs). Good vibe - casual, up-beat without the pretentiousness of other (chain) restaurant and bars.

Beware, have tried the food on multiple occasions - couldn't even finish the mussels, fries came out FROZEN once, appies and most other things on the menu are way overpriced. The only thing worth trying is the PB & J burger.

Otherwise, a great place to go with friends on a sunny day!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ms_Y_Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“BC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Great place in the Olympic Village. Had lunch on the second floor patio, fantastic view over False Creek with BC Park and Rogers Arena directly across the water and able to enjoy the boats. They only serve BC wines and beers which is a great way to become more immersed in what the province has to offer. We had the blackened chicken burger and tap greens both excellent. Good atmosphere.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adriana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
195 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“great view, good food....mostly view & service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We came here for late lunch on Tuesday. 3 of us sat on the outside upper terrace on a HOT afternoon. We had good beers and LOTS of food. nephew had grilled chicken burger and fries and fried pickle..first time I had taste of fried pickle...good, and better than I thought. Food was quick. I had Taps fusion salad wit prawns...yummy. Daughter had vegie burger and salad. She was happy. Great water view. Not cheap, but friendly and good and plentiful. We took the aquabus afterward....reviewed separately.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank lid_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tap & Barrel - Olympic Village also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Tap & Barrel - Olympic Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing