We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rangoon - CLOSED

Rangoon
1602 Yew St | Kitsilano, Vancouver, British Columbia V6K 3E7, Canada (Kitsilano)
+1 604-558-1602
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating
Neighborhood: Kitsilano
Description: Small (35 seats) casual restaurant on a busy strip in Kitsilano, Vancouver. Relaxed ambiance, eclectic soft music and most importantly, fine Burmese traditional cooking, European classics with authentic Vietnamese menu. Seafood appies, authentic Burmese salads, soups, pastas with choices of sauce , curry main dishes and a few fine desserts. Fully licensed.We offer a wide range of menu items including authentic Burmese dishes, chef's creative dishes, authentic Vietnamese dishes and Vietnamese Pho.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I had the opportunity to have dinner at Rangoon's twice last week. The food was fresh and delicious. We had the shrimp avocado rolls and tomato bruschetta as starters, followed by the chicken salad (exquisite) and coconut prawns for our main courses. There is a nice selection of affordable wines. Great service. I highly recommend you give it a try.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kittyfarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely coming back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Brought along one of my friends who had recently travelled to Burma with me to try it out and was not disappointed AT ALL!! The owner was very friendly, and the meal was fabulous! We tried the tofu salad, Owno-Kauk-Swe soup and curry prawns. I only wish there were more traditional Burmese dishes! The tofu salad was delicious and the Owno-Kauk-Swe was a nice light creamy coconut texture. I loved that they served the condiments on the side, you could put in whatever your taste preferred in to the soup. The Tofu salad was a nice portion size and was seasoned perfectly. If you can eat spicy, let them know because the chef does an excellent job of seasoning the dishes so that the spice doesn't over-power the other flavours of the dish. They do also offer other more westernized dishes too, so if you're going with less-adventurous people they have the option of enjoying a more westernized meal with you at the same table. I've heard only good things about the carpaccio so definitely will come back to try other things on the menu.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Didi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly exotic restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Very good cuisine, fine and tasty. Owners are charming and cheering. You can have spicy meal or a steak. They cooked it as you like. Personnaly, I prefer their burma cuisine. I like exotic meal. It as been delicious.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MKaszap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Really nice ethnic food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Give this place a try! We dropped by after the movies last Saturday and really enjoyed it. The appies are great. The carpaccio is the best we've had in a l-o-n-g time. Came with a very nice spinach salad. The lamb sausage was a killer. Yum! Portions are huge. The soups and salads are a meal in themselves. We'll be back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Grassgreener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangoonkits, Owner at Rangoon, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you Grassgreener for your kind review of our restaurant. We particularly appreciate the fact that you mentioned our non Burmese menu items as being of high quality and taste. Please feel free to visit again and try some of our traditional Burmese salads and meal soups. Again, many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rangoon also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing