We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Au Petit Cafe

Au Petit Cafe
Ranked #1,629 of 3,594 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Neighborhood: South Main
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
577 reviews
304 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Small and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Ate here recently with a friend so there were three of us. We have been to this small restaurant near 33rd and Main a few times. There is always a lineup and no exception today. It is worth the wait. The owners/staff are very friendly and efficient. Good welcome after the wait and then quickly with the menus and then orders. The Vietnamese food is authentic and tasty. If you have never tried Vietnamese sandwiches then head here. They are delicious and very close to the real thing in Vietnam. Prices are good value. It is a small place and very casual. We will continue to return here many times.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AirSchis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    11
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Best Vietnamese subs and mayeb even best Vietnamese restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

It has the best Vietnamese subs I ever had anywhere. Busy on weekends, but worth the wait. They don't have much selection for vermecelli noodles or pho, but both are great as well. Also as cheap as any Vietnamese restaurant which is quite cheap.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank theschuay86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Keep it secret - keep it safe!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

Au Petit has been in our community for years now and there is always a line up especially on Saturday and Sunday for Brunch and Lunch times. Best to call and order ahead and take it to go if you are in a hurry. Open from 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM and closed on Wednesdays. It is very small, seats maybe 30. Turn over is not too bad, but the wait is worth it.
They make the best Banh Mi, the Chicken and House special are out favs, plus the baguettes, which you can get with the stews, are the best.
The Pho' is wonderful, comforting and when ever I feel like I need a pick me up or am a little under the weather I call it my medicine! The chicken stew and beef stew is divine, just the perfect blending of coconut and curry. We have tasted just about everything on the menu and love it all.
It's about the best Vietnamese food in Vancouver, (I have been to many)!
I noticed it didn't get a nod in the Georgia Straight's Golden Plate Awards, which was surprising....but then it has such a large loyal clientele already, maybe better the foodie hoards don't discover it....for now!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PLJensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Good food! Vietnamese roll & Sub = <3 Fast! Nice Service (but it might have to do w/ my sister going there...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2009

Good food! Vietnamese roll & Sub = <3
Fast!
Nice Service (but it might have to do w/ my sister going there often??) *shrugs*

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Great nammer subs, pho is sub par. Go before 11 AM or risk either lining up on the street or subs selling out.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2008

Great nammer subs, pho is sub par. Go before 11 AM or risk either lining up on the street or subs selling out.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Petit Cafe also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Au Petit Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing