We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful experience.”

Gurkha Himalayan Kitchen
Ranked #312 of 3,750 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Tibetan, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Davie Village
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A delightful experience.”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

The Gurkha Himalayan Kitchen, located on Davie Street had all its elements happening in balanced measures. They have a patio at the back and it is beautiful for it feels so homely. For appetizers, I had the Taas and the Tenzing Momos, and both were equally delicious. Then for the entree, I tried their Daal Bhhat Masu, the non-vegetarian works. The works consisted of rice, daal, goat curry, chicken curry, raita, chutney, salad,kheer(dessert) and roti. The food is just rightly spiced and correctly portioned. The food offered various, yet remarkably deep flavours. The staff were friendly and very engaged in helping customers make the right choices. It was a warm experience dining here. Thank you GHK for a great dinner. I know I'll certainly be returning soon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pr C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    56
    15
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tasty momos”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We enjoyed our meal at Gurkha Kitchen. The food was good and the service could have been a touch faster - we were in a rush and they were not! We will go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foggy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hidden restaurant - a gem”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We found this restaurant by luck. We've visited a Gurkha Kitchen in the UK so thought we would try this one. We realise this is family run and has no connection with the UK place, Not too easy to find, up the stairs near the rainbow wall. A truly great meal. We shared the phuraula which were lightly spiced lentil patties. I had the pokhara lamb, melt in the mouth meat with delicious rice and my companion the lamb chilli which was equally delicious. Sadly we're leaving Vancouver tomorrow to carry on with our holiday so won't be able to visit again but would recommend it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dealhunter60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Inappropriately minuscule portion, ok flavour”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We went into this restaurant for the first time. The food flavour was ok, but we could not believe our eyes that the "9 beans" entree actually consisted of less than 2 oz. of broth and 12 individual beans. The other entree we ordered was small but not as obviously, in-your-face, inappropriately so. Can it be that (one of us) declining the waiter/owner's suggestions of ordering specialty drinks and side orders and coffee/tea has its consequences?

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank FirstReview911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
417 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Walk up the stairs for a taste of excellent Himalayan food!”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Met a group of friends on the deck of this restaurant - which I'd been to in a previous incarnation as a Basque restaurant that disappeared too quickly. I didn't know what to expect - something sort of Indian-like with maybe a little hint of Chinese? Well, yes, there were curries and rice and stir-fries but with distinctive flavors. We started with two orders of Momos (one chicken, one vegetarian), Aalu Achaar, and the Lollypop Chicken. Each plate of Momos held 10 pieces of something that looked like gyoza but more delicate and with a better balanced flavor than any gyoza I've had! The Lollypop chicken skewers had an excellent garlic & ginger sauce. The only one that I wasn't wild about was the Aalu Achaar which is potato salad spiced up. But then, I'm not a potato salad fan so....After that, we each got something different - from vegetarian to chicken to goat dishes. I tasted the Sherpa Chicken (chicken stir fry) and the Gorkhali Khasi (goat stew) - both in curry sauce, both outstanding. All the others agreed their dishes were excellent as well. When half a dozen people order different dishes and EVERYONE is happy with what they got, you've found a kitchen that knows what it's doing. Appies were $5-$10 each; mains were $12-$15 each. We all felt we'd gotten a really good meal and a good value as well. Definitely a repeat visit is in our future!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ASASG_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gurkha Himalayan Kitchen also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Gurkha Himalayan Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing