We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent food , fantastic cappuccinos it is sure to please .”
Review of Bel Cafe

Bel Cafe
Ranked #159 of 3,811 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: At Bel Cafe you'll find a range of expertly prepared delicacies paired with intelligent, friendly service, in a chic and inviting setting. Full table service is delivered alongside a selection of 'ready to go' items featuring fresh baked pastries, gourmet sandwiches, nourishing soups, beautiful tarts and cakes and our exquisite confetti-like macarons.
Mackay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Magnificent food , fantastic cappuccinos it is sure to please .”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The coffee is good and food is very superior we've enjoyed several meals.
The Thai , lemongrass coconut chicken soup is exceptional , this morning we had
Cheese and Ham croissants absolutely mouth watering. The chicken and salad bani
was something special also.
We are very much looking forward to coming bak in December .
The staff are exceptional this place is a must to visit .

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kester O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    63
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A real coffeee shop in an elegant hotel”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The Bel Cafe is located in the Rosewood Hotel Georgia. It is operated by Chef David Hawksworth, the proprietor of Hawksworth next door. This is a real coffee shop: They offer patisserie-style baked goods, coffee served in real cups and food served on real plates.

I had honey muffin and ordered 8 macarons for Sleeping Beauty. The vote from my Sleeping Beauty: She said the macarons are as good as Bottega Louie, but not as good as Laduree in France. I have never been to France, but I have had the Laduree macarons at Charles de Gaulle Airport and they are excellent. I didn't get to try these macarons :-( The muffin was pretty good. It was moist and flavorful: Both 4 Stars.

The ambiance was buzzing @ 8 am on a Fri. There were business types, workers grabbing a quick cafe & breakfast item, or tourists like me. There is good people watching because the cafe is on the corner. My server was friendly and efficient: Both 4 Stars.

I would definitely come here again regardless or not if I was staying in the hotel. Bel Cafe offers good quality food, friendly service and nice ambiance.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix,Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good cafe”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The macaroons were pretty good.The sandwiches and soups were nice.It is attached to the Rosewood Hotel Georgia.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank oranges8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food and cute decor”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Cute designer coffee shop with very good breakfast food. Vegetable frittata is very good, Ham and cheese as well. Skip the kale sandwich. Sizes on the small side

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good place for a snack”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We sampled a few things from Bel Café because of convenience. I was told their Almond Croissant won some kind of award and they only offered it twice a week, so I gave it a try. It was a good Almond Croissant with enough Almond paste, but too much powder sugar on the top. I don’t know why bakeries love powder sugar so much? Their Plain Croissant was not good at all; it was not flakey and buttery enough. My brother had the breakfast sandwich before he left for the airport and he said it was fine. My mom had the Honey Bran Muffin and my father had the Strawberry Rhubarb & Ricotta Danish. They both liked it. We had the Dark Hot Chocolate right before we left for airport. At first the temperature was off and I asked them to warm it. The second try was better and it had a nice deep chocolate flavor.
You can see the pictures at :
http://travel4foodnart.wordpress.com/2013/09/26/bel-cafe/

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetobeinparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bel Cafe also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Bel Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing