We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So comfy, a must!”

Spokes Bicycle Rentals
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Spokes Bicycle Rentals is your gateway to world famous Stanley Park. Spokes offers a variety of rental bicycles for a truly unique way to sightsee in Vancouver. Visit Spokes to start exploring Stanley Park and Vancouver by bike.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So comfy, a must!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

The service was fantastic, everything in renting is included in the price: locks, helmets, bike etc. These were the comfiest bikes Both myself and my cousin had ever ridden, and very light and easy to manoeuvre. Thinking of investing in one. I have toured Stanley Park by car before but highly recommend going by bicycle. The sea wall takes you right along the water with numerous places to take pictures or stop to dip your toes in the ocean at the beaches. Spokes will provide maps and what not. Great service.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Adriana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    64
    17
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of the musts to do while I'm Vancouver, BC Canada”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Although I was born in Vancouver I had never ridden a bike around Stanley park, well since I don't own a bike I rented one from spokes, great bikes, great service and an awesome price. It's a must!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AdviceWriter2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
1,266 reviews
349 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 533 helpful votes
“Great experience and a wonderful way to see Stanley Park.”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We rented two bikes and a kid trailer from here with absolutely no complaints or hassles. Their workers were friendly and helpful. I really liked their location directly across from an entrance into Stanley Park. We would definitely use them again and also recommend them to friends. I would recommend a half or full day rental to really enjoy the park; one hour is just a tease. I also wanted to outweigh the only negative feedback they have received: an oddly racist complaint ("Oriental" typically describes physical good like carpets. I think he/she was looking for the word "Asian" to complete his/her racist rant). You see by their reply they are a wonderful, customer-focused company.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rather_Nomadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
150 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“best way to see stanley park”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

It was well worth the expense for a few hours to really see stanley park, especially along the shoreline. We went around the park twice, which we surely could not have done on foot. The bike lanes in Stanley park are nicely organized to keep you from pedestrians and from automobile traffic. the staff was very helpful and courteous!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank HI_Traveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Mississippi
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“AVOID! AVOID! AVOID!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

For years, I have visited Vancouver, rented a bicycle and enjoyed Stanley park & other adventures. On or about 29 SEP 12, I attempted the same. Stokes Bicycle was full of oriental students. They were renting bicyles left and right using their ID cards. However, I am NOT an oriental and they wanted a $1,000 deposit from me to rent a bicycle. Fool that I was, I handed over my credit card. They then shoved a form in my face and demanded my driver's license and passport. I figured with that they could be able to charge any amount to my credit card and I would not be able to return to the US. I asked to cancel the transaction. It had already gone through. Only a day or so ago did it come off my account. AVOID! AVOID! AVOID! Unless you are an oriental.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
16 Thank rwhite1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpokesVancouver, Manager at Spokes Bicycle Rentals, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and sorry to hear about your experience. I would like to clarify that it is only for our high end road bikes that we require a photo ID and $1000 pre-authorization. The rental form and waiver is completed and signed by all of our guests, no matter what race you are. Pre-authorizations are completed after the rental or in your case, when you requested to cancel your rental. This completion releases the hold on your credit card on the same day and any additional time you had to wait unfortunately depends completely on the credit card and associated financial institution. Some financial institutions processing time with international credit card transactions may take up to 10 days and is unfortunately beyond our control.
We were hosting a school group on that day and yes, there are many persons of Asian heritage in Vancouver. We treat everyone fairly and equally regardless of their background.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spokes Bicycle Rentals also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Spokes Bicycle Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing