We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fable

Fable
Reserve with OpenTable
Fable is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 3,678 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $24
Cuisines: Canadian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Kitsilano
Cross street: between Maple and Cypress
Description: Local food brought in daily and prepared fresh for service. Defining Canadian cuisine.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

It all starts with a warm reception and great service. We were greeted by a very friendly hostess who promptly seated us. The menu is diverse and well priced.
Our waitress took the time to explain every dish as she delivered them and recommended great wine pairings to go with each. I would highly recommend this place for a night out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Farsholious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    91
    26
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Three of us ate at Fable on an early Thursday night. Since it was 5:30 pm, the restuarant was relatively empty when we got there and the service was good throughout. We had 2 appetizers and 3 main courses. We thought the flatbread was fine, the gnocchi good. However, I thought the famed caned tuna was so so, and the two fish maincourses strange. I had a fish special (don't remember exactly) that I did not care for and the waitress swapped it for the slow cooked trout. The trout was fine but perhaps the cooking style was just not my preference.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HillsCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fable Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Mother's Day Brunch at Fable's Vancouver location , food was delicious served in a most relaxed atmosphere,
Food presentation not only visually stunning, but most divine!
So happy to hear that it is co-owned by an ex-Montrealer,

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Joellelise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Near perfection. We were 9 people and I managed to taste 5 different dishes, all of them delicious. Not an easy feat to pull off perfectly cooked Eggs Benedict on a busy Mother's Day brunch; to time it so that all of us got our plates at the same time, and warm too!; to keep the (very good) coffee flowing. And to boot the plates were attractively arranged, and the staff was friendly. Even the owner nicely indulged my overly chatty sister and never let on just how crazy busy he was. Wonderful Mother's Day thanks to Fable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AP1836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Neighbourly Perfection.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Fable is the sort of neighbourhood restaurant we all wish was just around the corner. Simple food based on locally sourced ingredients and solid technic means the dishes not only satisfy but wow us. Try the "canned tuna" it's a go to dish. The rabbit special and fish dishes on offer when we dined were damn good too. Service is friendly and efficient but hey this is Canada, what do you expect? Sit at the bar and you can almost lend the chefs a hand. The desserts although tasty were a touch too tricky for the style of dining.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DarrenL68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fable also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Fable? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing