We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of Back Forty

Back Forty
Ranked #288 of 3,776 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: Robson Street
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Our server was very kind and helpful and the food was delicious! Everyone in my family was happy with it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MCR5ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    66
    29
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Decent food but not kid friendly”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We ate here twice during our week in Vancouver and enjoyed the food and drinks here. The only downside to this place was that did not have high chairs available for our kids. Our 1 year old had to sit in her stroller while we ate. While not a reflection of the food or service, just something that you need to keep in mind if you are traveling with kids.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nuner112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Last Call is 12:30 pm”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I liked the layout and the decor.They have a patio area. We were there the night before the the World Cup finals.We ordered Nachos and some drinks. The Nachos were good. Last call was right on 12:30 am that was the only thing that was not that great. Service was good but they were ready to bounce. You cant hate them for that.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cristobal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, good staff”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

After traveling all day and wanting some food, this place was perfect being right across the street from the Hampton. We went a bit early so there were not very many others there. Setup is pretty much a sports bar, but looked like it would be fine for kids as well. Bartender servers us and she was very nice. They have a good mix of local beers, along with the standard "must haves". The nachos were really good, we had pulled pork added and the pork was smoked. Nachos were good portion and presentation and taste was great. Dinner was basket of chicken (handmade chicken tenders is what they seemed), no bones with gravy and hot sauce on the side. The waitress brought me a sample of macaroni salad since she didn't like the batch and wanted me to taste before ordering. Wife had a salad, and adult son had chicken and waffles. Portions were good size. The chicken and waffles were so good I never got to taste.
My second beer was on the house since the bartender didn't know anything about it and needed someone to try it out. No problem here, it was a Dead Frog Brewery unfiltered Bold.
We sat inside, but they have a good seating area outside as well.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Back forty is more like back 1/2 acre”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I've eaten at better places. It was close to the hotel so we chose to eat here our first night in Vancouver. We didn't enjoy the food as much as we did other places in Vancouver.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Forty also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Back Forty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing