We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dependable Delights”
Review of Cafe Luxy

Cafe Luxy
Ranked #511 of 3,732 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Davie Village
Fort St. John, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Dependable Delights”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Have enjoyed drinks and dinner at the Luxy on a number of occaisions, and generally find it a great little place in a terrific spot to enjoy a casual but always very tasty italian meal. As others have commented, the pasta portions are large, and dominate the long list of menu choices. I have tried at least a few & all have been excellent. Cafe Luxy is not in the league of the very top teir Italian gastronomic delights Vancouver has to offer, but the menu prices don't require a extra gold card either. Recently a date & I shared three different apetizer selections, cocktails to accompany each, and including the well deserved tip - the bill for this delightful dining experience was still in under a hundred. What's not to like? Great staff!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    31
    17
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great and fresh Italian cuisine!”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Food is freshly made almost in front of you , the good aroma you can smell the moment you enter the restaurant and staff and service are both amazing.
Great ambiance and located in the chic part of town.
Price is relatively comparable to others but portion is very generous.
I would easily recommend to anyone.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Savvy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
196 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Nothing Special.”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I ate at Cafe Luxy tonight for the first time in a few years. I feel that the quality has declined since my last visit. I'm not sure if the quality is lower or if my standards are higher, but either way I did not enjoy the meal as much. It is not terrible by any means, but I will likely not go back for a while. The atmosphere as always was great, as was the service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EvanUTVol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, New York
Level Contributor
541 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 399 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

I had the cannelloni and it was quite good, with a nice filling, good melted cheese topping, and a tasty sauce. However it was preceded by a salad that comes with the meal, and that was dreadful--plain lettuce saturated with dressing (perhaps a basic Caesar salad). One slice of toasted garlic bread was also provided, and when I'd finished it the waitress asked if I wanted to put in an order for more, I think at additional cost. I declined. So it was a fine main course marred by the handling of the salad and bread complements.

I liked the open front of the restaurant as it provided free entertainment during the meal in the form of the marvelously diverse characters passing by on Davie St. But if it's not a nice day or if people watching isn't interesting to you this might not be a good thing.

This was an acceptable meal but no bargain. If in the neighborhood you might give it a try, but I would not go out of my way to eat here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“So Disappointed”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Just had dinner and was very disappointed. The old attentive staff wasn't there, just one women who didn't seem very interested in serving us. Too busy chatting with a women at the bar. The food was Mediocre at best. Poor balance of flavors and heavy tasting. It's off the list.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OR_Cowboy_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Luxy also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Cafe Luxy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing