We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Times Square Suites Hotel
Ranked #8 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Experience!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2006

My family and I stayed at the Times Square Suites and had a wonderful time. If you are looking for your typical hotel, this is not the place for you. No one is going to park your car or take your bags up to your room. Personally, I don't need that because I prefer not to tip every Tom, Dick and Harry. The staff I did see were very friendly. Our room was incredible. It overlooked Robson St. and I could not hear the outside. They were doing construction around the hotel, but that didn't bother us. Things are very secure there. I'm not sure if they've had problems in the past, but the area seemed very nice and safe to me. Yes, there are homeless people, but what major city doesn't have homeless people? They seemed pretty harmless to me. The location was excellent--very close to Stanley Park and close to shopping. There are a lot of cafes and restaurants in the area. Moreover, there is a safeway directly across the street. We also took advantage of the free gym membership while we stayed there. If you have small kids I recommend the bedroom/den. We put our kids in the den and we slept in the other room.

  • Liked — Suites
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank ares_research
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    971
    281
    26
    7
    10
See reviews for
493
481
41
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2006

We stayed for a week as a base to explore Vancouver. All staff were warm & helpful. The one bedroom apartment was well appointed with a full kitchen that allowed us to save money on meals. The location is great, on the edge of Stanley Park & a 10 minute uphill walk to the main area of Robson St. There is a Safeway nearby & several lovely cafes & restaurants.
I can not recommend these suites highly enough.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Oz_Kiwi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2006

Warm and friendly welcome at reception. Suite well equipped almost didn't want to leave as a home away from home. Great eating close by. Convenient to Stanley Park and nice harbour walks. We had a back suite which was quiet. Exceeded our expectations.

  • Liked — Didn't feel like a hotel room - due to homely decor and equipment. Close to soem great well priced restaurants
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid shuttle bus from airport - catch a cab.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2wombats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2006

Stayed at Times Square Suites for 6 nights at the start of a three week holiday in Canada. Booked the accommodation based on the majority of good reviews on Trip Advisor. I was slightly worried by two reviews that appeared shortly before my trip, with references to safety / security concerns.

On arrival I felt the reviews exagerrated the security situation. Yes there is a notice on the front door reminding guests to close it securely behind them, but there are also notices of this nature on several of the minor entrances to the upmarket Westin Bayshore Hotel in Coal Harbour. The somewhat depressing / disturbing sight of homeless people searching in dumpsters is not something exclusive to the rear of Times Square Suites either. Although for the most part a beautiful city, Vancouver does appear to have a significant homeless population, visible in all locations, including upmarket tourist haunts, beaches etc. The vast majority do not however appear as a threat, more a sad fact of life in the city, where they are getting by as best they can.

As many other reviewers have pointed out, if you go to Times Squre Suites expecting hotel suites, you will be disappointed. If you accept that its a serviced apartment complex there is no problem and the accommodation is perfectly acceptable and good value for money. It offers a homely experience. Furnishings are good quality - better than some of the photographs on the web site portray. Kitchen is well equipped, and all refuse left outside apartment door is promptly collected. Double bedroom is a good size. Twin (second) bedroom is okay, although the arrangement is a little odd, with the diviision between it and the living room consisting of a glass door and a wall of windows above waist height! Not much privacy, need to keep the blinds shut on that window which defeats the purpose of this design feature which is intended to allow additional light into the living area. Person occupying that room said they somehow felt they were in a hospital room!

Based on previous reviewers comments, I specifically requested an apartment to the rear of the building and was pleased to have my request granted, and apart from the arrival of the early morning refuse truck, it was very quiet.

Staff are unobtrusive. Reception staff will try to assist with any enquiries, although on one occassion I felt like I knew more about the tourist sights of Vancouver than one particular staff member that I asked for advice on bus routes.

The roof top garden is a particularly pleasant feature, offering views towards Coal Harbour and the mountains beyond. Well equipped with sun loungers and dining furniture, and large gas barbecue. Roof top facility appears to be underutilised - no complaints from me, as it was very pleasant venue to occasionally relax.

Overall good location. Its at the less upmarket end of Robson Street, but that's not to suggest that there's anything terribly wrong with it. The rather grotty Safeway supermarket and its unkempt parking lot on the street corner diagonally opposite TSS is probably the worst contributor to a slightly downmarket appearance. Apart from that there's a mix of mostly cheap and cheerful restaurants and take aways in the immediate vicinity along Denman Street and Robson Street. 15 minutes walk along Denman Street to the beach, and best of all 5 minutes in the opposite direction to beautiful Coal Harbour, and a pleasant 15 - 20 minutes to Stanley Park. Bit more of a trek to the the main shopping areas around Robson Street, Pacific Centre etc - best option is to take the frequent bus service (no. 5 I think).

Would recommend this for anyone wanting to experience "living" in Vancouver. If your preference is for a hotel in a good location my preference would be the Westin Bayshore.

  • Liked — Proximity to Coal Harbour and Stanley Park
  • Disliked — Slightly grotty appearance of some nearby properties on Robson Street
  • Tips/Secrets — Request a room to the rear; make use of the very pleasant roof garden.
  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank mbbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2006

We chose Times Square Suites based on Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. The rooms were well maintained, extremely clean, well-stocked and it was great to have a kitchen and laundry facilities in the unit as we were there for one week. The location is excellent though the hotel itself a little hard to find (and I'm from Vancouver!) because it was former apartment building and the signage is somewhat hidden from the main road. The standard one bedroom and den (with balcony) is said to accommodate up to 4 adults but I think that would have been too cramped for a long stay, especially since we had two young kids with us.

  • Liked — Facilities - self contained apartment, location, very clean
  • Disliked — the rooms were a bit on the small side
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank ringo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2006

Very nice very clean self contained apartment in a perfect location. Security very good, rooms soundproof and airconditioned. Laundry facilities were fantastic for a long (9 days) stay. Located on the border between Stanley park and downtown Vancouver, and at the junction of two great streets - Robson (straight to shopping) and Denman (straight to beach). A short walk along the boardwalk to the overseas ship terminal and the information centre. Internet access, bike hire, supermarket and restaurants around the corner.
We really enjoyed this very reasonably priced (cheaper than equivalent quality hotel) apartment, and would stay there again if we go back to Vancouver.

  • Liked — Location, clean, laundry facilities
  • Disliked — Got a bit hot during the day in the room, but air-con fixed it
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AussieTraveller20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2006

We spent 2 nights at the Times Square Suites in early Oct. What a great find in Vancouver! We had a 1 bedroom suite and loved having a full kitchen and washer/dryer right in the room. Even though it was still warm outside, we couldn't resist the gas fireplace in the living room area. The kitchen is equipped with everything you could possibly need. There is a Safeway grocery store just a block away if you want to pick up groceries. There are plenty of restaurants, cafes and shops within walking distance. It is a great location. This property is very well maintained. We were impressed with their attention to safety. There is secured parking underneath the building with a automatic garage door. If you are visiting Vancouver make sure to visit the Vancouver Aquarium and Stanely Park which also are close to this property. We would love to go back to Vancouver and spend more time at the Times Square Suites..

  • Liked — Amenities
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Tips/Secrets — If you're driving to this locations ask for detailed directions. It can be hard to locate where the parking/hotel is.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank easttown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,603 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,813 reviews
Davie Village
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#14 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Times Square Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Times Square Suites Hotel

Property: Times Square Suites Hotel
Address: 1821 Robson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 3E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#6 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#16 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Times Square Suites Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Times Square Suites apartment-style hotel has been pleasing business travelers, couples and families for many years. Each of the 42 suites has a full kitchen,washer/dryer, fireplace, HD TV and blu ray player. Guests also have access to our rooftop patio with BBQ and a membership to our local fitness centre with indoor pool, squash courts and yoga. Nestled in the West End residential community of Vancouver, two blocks from Stanley Park and an easy walk or transit ride to the heart of downtown. Green Key rating of 4 keys out of 5 for environmental practices! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Times Square Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Times Square Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing