We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our home away from home in Vancouver”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Times Square Suites Hotel
Ranked #8 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Our home away from home in Vancouver”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We have stayed here several times over the past three years and really love it. The rooms are immaculate, spacious, updated, and comfortable. Staff are super friendly. Garage parking. Pet friendly. The location is ideal--close to English Bay (take the water taxi from there to Granville and don't worry about driving or parking), shopping on Robson, and Stanley Park. There are many great restaurants within a 5 minute walk--including the Italian place next door (we also love Kingyo and Legendary Noodle).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 802DKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    971
    281
    26
    7
    10
See reviews for
493
481
41
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Times Square Suites Hotel at the end of September, 2013. Specifically, this review is about Room 312. I did not ask, and it was never made apparent, but I suspect that the hotel rooms are actually individually owned condominiums, built hotel style. With the exception of a locked hotel entry at which you must press a doorbell to be buzzed in and the lack of a main lobby, it otherwise looks like a hotel once you enter. The look and feel of the hotel overall is like a private apartment, much like I think you would find in a New York building. You would need to buy anything you need at one of the local stores as there is no gift or snack shop. Think of it more as a secure apartment building in structure.

Entering through the locked door you immediately enter an elevator. Down one floor leads you to the small, spartan reception area with one or two clerks, ready to check you in or help you with any other needs. On the other side of this room is the underground parking lot.

Upon check-in you will be given a room key as well as one that works on the front door so you will not have to be buzzed in each time you enter the building and which also works the elevator up to your room floor. There is no maid service or everyday cleaning of the rooms. Please check how to get scheduled. I believe they said policy what that if you are staying for an extended period, the rooms must be cleaned every five days per health department rules.

The room itself was pleasant enough, overlooking busy Robson Street. This is one of the main streets and shopping areas filled with small businesses like restaurants, grocery stores (a Safeway grocery is only a couple block walk), and electronics. A main shopping "mall" area is within a mile walk and if you don't mind a longer walk you can cross town to the beach and catch a water ferry to Granville Island.

So back to the room. It was quiet enough and loaded with kitchen utensils. You can expect to have everything you need to cook full meals should you decide to eat in every day. There is a full size refrigerator, stove, etc. You will also find a clothes washer and dryer in the room which is most convenient. Be sure to pack your own washer soap before you leave home; I believe the first packet is free but you can buy more downstairs at reception. The tiny room air conditioner in the bedroom could not keep the 3 rooms cool enough for our taste but there was one of those vertical fans that moved the air around efficiently. We were not uncomfortable, though, but did have at least the fan on all the time even though it was not really warm outside at any time. A caveat, however, would be that if I am correct about individual ownership of the units it is possible as we have found out in the past at Sundance Resort, that not all units are decorated nor maintained equally. You may get better or worse IF I am correct.

Although only there for two days prior to a cruise, I do not feel that any other place we could have chosen would have been more private, convenient, or have given as much value as with the Times Square Suites. We called the reception area just before leaving our room on check-out day for a taxi and it was down in the convenient underground garage next to reception check-out waiting to take us to the ship when we arrived.

I highly recommend you look at the Times Square Suites Hotel if you are planning a trip to Vancouver.

Room Tip: Unless you have reserved in advance, ask to see the room first. If you did and the room does not mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DobbinsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimesSquareSuites, General Manager at Times Square Suites Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review!
We strive to make people feel like they are "living" in Vancouver whether it is for a few days or a few weeks.
Times Square Suites is independent and we have just one owner. Our team works together to pick colour schemes for the suites so it may feel like each suite has a unique character. This is also differentiated by the location in the building.
We do allow guests to mandate when they want housekeeping. This accommodates various schedules and sleep patterns, however, we do ask to clean at least twice per week if someone is staying 7 nights or more. This is to ensure that our standards of cleanliness are maintained to our housekeepers' expectations.
We hope to see you back again and feel free to request your favourite suite. We cannot always guarantee your request can be met but we will certainly do our best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed here for a week in November 2013. The den bedroom was perfect for our 5 year old. We could put her away and relax. Starbucks just downstairs for fresh coffee in the AM (although that could be said of any hotel on a corner in vancouver it seems). The position is great. We could walk to basically anywhere and buses would stop just over the road to take you up into town. The Safeway over the road on the opposite corner also provided a few easy meals. Very clean and tidy to boot with very friendly staff.

Room Tip: The trip advisor tips worked for us that were already there
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baletravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

After researching a variety of options for our group of 17- multiple standard hotel rooms, other suite hotels, etc., I decided to book our 6 rooms with Times Square Suites. Though several in our party are originally from the Vancouver area, we had spent our last 10 years staying outside the city center. For this trip we were finally able to show off this wonderful city to the other family members and between the location and the general set up of this hotel, I couldn't have picked a better place. We had 5 children in our party and I can't emphasize enough how great it was to have the room to spread out, close doors on sleeping children, eat some meals in, etc. The short walk to Stanley Park was the perfect kid-friendly activity as was the close proximity of The White Spot (for Pirate Paks) and Robson Street (general souvenir and other shopping). For the rest of us there was a huge variety of ethnic restaurants, a 24 hour Blenz coffee shop, Safeway for groceries, and liquor store to get wine when we decided to stay in one night. The staff was especially helpful in giving me all the information necessary to choose room types and telling me about a pay early promotion that meant we spent less than I would have for a regular hotel room without the suite advantages. I loved the residential feel, the extra room, washer/dryer, and fireplaces when it was chilly. All in our group agreed that it was perfect for our family!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKCunli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Peaks, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Excellent bed & enough room to get some work done. Ideal location for a walk around Lost Lagoon & Stanley Park or a walk to down town business appointments. Suite #206 is in the back of the building and was dead quiet, from both Hotel noise and street noise. (Rooms on the Denman Street face overlook one of the busier streets in Vancouver). The suite was perfectly clean throughout my three day stay & at $156.00 per day pretty much the best value around.The full kitchen allowed me to make my own breakfast (I don't do mornings well) from food bought at the Safeway across the street.

Room Tip: Stay off the Denman street face if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelfane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

I was looking for a place to stay in the west end. I am a fan of korean and japanese food. This hotel is located right in the center of all the good food. My review is mainly for the location.

Stayed here for couple days and enjoy the convenience of the hotel. The suite is clean but a little outdated. There was a weird scent in the hall way and lobby... it doesn't really bother me too much.

Parking lot is a little small. (self park only) Although the place is located near many restaurant, the sleep quality is not bad. doesn't get loud over the weekend neither. It's close by stanley park and grouse mountain.

Room Tip: they have a roof you can bbq and overlook the mountain scenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

I returned yesterday from a five night stay at Times Square Suites Hotel. Before going we were impressed with the reviews and the location. I can now report that there is no exaggeration in the reviews - amazing location; large, comfortable rooms; extremely clean; helpful staff; and all you need (food, restaurants, services) is just steps away. We were in Vancouver for a couple of days of work and a couple of days of relaxation and the hotel worked well for both. And if I were to bring kids, this would be a great choice given the location and the size of the suites.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,598 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,812 reviews
Davie Village
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#13 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,131 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Times Square Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Times Square Suites Hotel

Property: Times Square Suites Hotel
Address: 1821 Robson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 3E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#6 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#16 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Times Square Suites Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Times Square Suites apartment-style hotel has been pleasing business travelers, couples and families for many years. Each of the 42 suites has a full kitchen,washer/dryer, fireplace, HD TV and blu ray player. Guests also have access to our rooftop patio with BBQ and a membership to our local fitness centre with indoor pool, squash courts and yoga. Nestled in the West End residential community of Vancouver, two blocks from Stanley Park and an easy walk or transit ride to the heart of downtown. Green Key rating of 4 keys out of 5 for environmental practices! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Times Square Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Times Square Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing