We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Home Away From Home Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Times Square Suites Hotel
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was a fantastic place for a family of four. We had a one bedroom plus den corner unit on the third floor - spacious, air conditioned, nice view of Denman and Robson Streets, and it had everything we needed as a home away from home.

From the moment we booked online, we received excellent communication, even leading up to check-in. While I knew the area for having lived in this section of downtown Vancouver in the nineties, I wasn't sure about the check-in procedure with having to drive into a parking lot, but it was actually quite easy and smooth. So that communication (via email) beforehand was helpful.

The check-in desk was in a room off the parking lot (where you eventually catch the elevator to your room), so it's a different procedure and all, but no big deal. It's obvious they take security seriously, as the parking lot is secure, and you need a key to access the front door, the elevator and the rooftop BBQ/sitting area, and I can appreciate that.

The room had everything we needed and was nice and cool during the hot spell when we stayed. Very spacious, very clean, and the kitchen was fully equipped. We did as much cooking in as we did eating out. As well, the rooftop BBQ and sitting area is very quaint and inviting. While there's only 1 BBQ, we did not find we had a challenge to use it at any time, and quite often had the area to ourselves. I'd highly recommend time spent up there.

Noise. I only mention this because it's been mentioned in various posts, but it wasn't a bother to us, perhaps because we used to live in this area some time back, or because we're weird and find noises therapeutic, but we weren't very conscious of noise. Most times we had fans going during the night (and yes, these are somewhat loud, but we didn't notice). They do supply ear plugs for people not used to city sounds.

Location. Probably one of the best features of this property. You don't need to even use your car while you stay here - everything downtown Vancouver is within walking distance. Not only are there great eateries, coffee shops, the nicest Safeway I have ever seen (right across the street), but English Bay, Stanley Park, bike rentals, tennis courts, shopping on Robson Street, etc. these are all nearby. Bike rental shops abound right outside the doors, it just doesn't get better than this.

Reasonable. We decided on Times Square Suites, partly because we lived in the area and wanted to re-experience our days living here, but also saw that we couldn't beat the value. Even parking - many properties charge parking and at a much higher cost. We also knew we'd be leaving our car for the entire stay and just walking downtown Vancouver, and we had complete confidence in the security.

When we stay in Vancouver next, we won't hesitate to choose Times Square Suites, as the value can't be beat.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor, in a one bedroom plus den corner unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cherie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

741 - 747 of 1,406 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here for two days at the end of a 3 week vacation across Canada before flying home to Australia.
After many nights in hotels it was lovely to have space and a washer/ dryer to do all the laundry before flying home. The kitchen was wonderful too although we only used it for breakfasts and ate out at the close by restaurants. The African restaurant up the street was amazing !
Staff were fabulous. Location to Stanley Park and waterfront was perfect we both walked and cycled which was fabulous.
The bed was very comfortable - my only negative was the room was very warm there was a air conditioner and fan but they weren't very efficient . Would be cosy in winter !! A little warm for us in the summer . But overall very nice and we would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovex5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimesSquareSuites, General Manager at Times Square Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are so happy you enjoyed the neighbourhood and our back yard (Stanley Park)!
Our hottest months are July and August which are around 24-28C so it is generally pleasant. We are in the process of installing new AC units in our bedrooms. They are quieter and offer comfortable cooling for sleeping. We will continue to have a fan in the living area to circulate the air.
You are absolutely right about winter, the fireplace offers warmth and ambient light. It is very cozy!
We hope to see you back at Times Square Suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I think it would be impossible to beat Times Square Suites for value, location, and convenience. Our one-bedroom suite was immaculate. The bed was the most comfortable I've ever experienced in a hotel. The kitchen was well equipped. The rooftop patio was perfect for enjoying a glass of wine while looking the city, water, and mountains (we didn't use the gas grill, but it is a great addition). The staff was friendly and helpful. The location, two blocks from Stanley Park and steps from fabulous restaurants, could not be better. We stayed eight nights (July 6-14, 2013) and everything about the stay was perfect. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveFallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We only got to stay here for one night, but it was definitely a great night. The hotel is perfectly located, steps to Stanley Park and Robson Street. We had a great room that felt more like a condo than a hotel room. We could stretch out, and as some people here have mentioned, it felt like home very quickly. The staff was very helpful and the next time we come to Vancouver we will stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here a couple nights before departing on a cruise. This hotel is in a great location, really close to Stanley Park and all the downtown attractions. It's a short drive north to Capilano Suspension Bridge and an easy drive to UBC Museum of Anthropology. The hotel is on the corner of Robson and Denman. There are many great restaurants to please any palate near the hotel. Plus there's a Safeway across the street where you can easily stock your kitchen.

We had 4 people in a 2 Bedroom suite/apartment that had a full kitchen and living space, one 4 piece bathroom, and washer and dryer in the apartment. The kitchen part of the living space had a table and 4 chairs. the rest of the living space had a sleeper sofa, coffee table, end table, chair, and TV over the gas fireplace. The in room laundry facilities allowed us to pack less. There was a double bed in each bedroom. The larger bedroom had a TV, the smaller bedroom did not. The apartment was spacious and very clean.

The building is very secure. When you arrive, you have to be buzzed in from the main door on Robson and take the elevator to level P (Parking) where the registration desk is located. This is where you'll discover they have private parking for their guests in a secure garage. They gave us a key for the elevator and main door which is separate from the key for the apartment. This seemed like a lot of security but we found the neighborhood area to be very safe. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful. They offered a lot of great suggestions for local restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LotusExplorerTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I'm 12 years old, and I traveled with my mom. The hotel was nice, everyone was polite, and the kitchen was very nice. The location is fantastic. The one thing to think about is, there is quite a lot of street noise. They put ear plugs in our room, so that's saying something. I'm not sure if this was just for us, like a mistake, or if it was in general, but we had two T.V.'s in our room. One was in the bedroom, one in the living room. If someone was watching something in the living, and you turned on the T.V. in the bedroom, it would say "No Signal". That wasn't typically a problem, but it was a few times. One thing that was a plus for me, but not for my mom, was that there is no everyday room cleaning. You want it, you ask for it. All in all, I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toomuchresearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimesSquareSuites, General Manager at Times Square Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We do like to learn from our guests' experience but I will reiterate that we prefer that you let us know if you have any issues in your suite during your stay so we can address them immediately. Our Maintenance Manager is now aware of the TV signal problem and we thank you for that.
We started putting ear plugs in the suites in 2010 during the Olympics when we had dancers and performers staying with us who were from China, Eastern Canada and the US. They had to sleep during the day to avoid jet lag so they could perform at night. They requested ear plugs and we thought it would be nice to continue to provide them for our guests who are on different time zones or who are not used to the sounds of our city.
We hope you can return to Vancouver, we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great accommodation. Close to the shops of Robson street and close to Safeway if you need to buy any groceries. Comfortable accommodation. Great clean place to stay. Times Square was also nice enough to upgrade on our stay when we arrived.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azntourist001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,013 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,563 reviews
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,664 reviews
Davie Village
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#19 of 92 in Vancouver
2,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Times Square Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Times Square Suites Hotel

Address: 1821 Robson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 3E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#6 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#16 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $141 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Times Square Suites Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Times Square Suites apartment-style hotel has been pleasing business travelers, couples and families for many years. Each of the 42 suites has a full kitchen,washer/dryer, fireplace, HD TV and blu ray player. Guests also have access to our rooftop patio with BBQ and a membership to our local fitness centre with indoor pool, squash courts and yoga. Nestled in the West End residential community of Vancouver, two blocks from Stanley Park and an easy walk or transit ride to the heart of downtown. Green Key rating of 4 keys out of 5 for environmental practices! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Times Square Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Times Square Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing