We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Time square suites-perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Times Square Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Times Square Suites Hotel
Ranked #8 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
1 review
“Time square suites-perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were in Vancouver for my nieces wedding and our party included 11. Times Square was the perfect venue for our needs!!! We loved having the kitchen, and the washer/dryer. The beds were very comfortable and we enjoyed having adjoining rooms! Amenities were close (coffee, Safeway, liquor store) and it was great value.
The location was awesome, and allowed us to explore Vancouver's beautiful sites on foot! The street could be noisy at night, but the air conditioner blocked out all the noise, if white noise doesn't bother you, otherwise, earplugs were provided!
We would stay again, and would highly recommend Times Square Suites!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    965
    278
    26
    7
    10
See reviews for
488
478
41
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Almeria, Spain
Level Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was my 5th trip to TSS for a 12 night stay in April. Some changes to the apts since I was last here, large flat screen tv´s in lounge and bedroom, carpets gone and wooden floors put in.
TSS never fails to keep up the high standards it´s known for. Staff are always pleasant, efficient and very helpful. It´s my Vancouver home, and I wouldn´t think of staying anywhere else when I am visiting this great city.
A new Spa & Beauty shop underneath the apts opened while I was there, and the Tivola restaurant, which we visited. Tried to book the Nook but no luck as there were 8 of us, and it´s only a small place, but very popular. Perhaps next visit we will book in advance.
This area has everything you could want and if you self cater the Safeway across the street has whatever you need.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZandaSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here for three nights as our base in Vancouver with our four year old son. great facility. Clean and airy suite with all we needed and staff who helped print out ticket bookings for us etc. great to have parking and wifi and be so walkable to Coal Harbour with supermarket across the street. I'd certainly recommend for a pleasant, uncomplicated and flexible stay. Thanks all!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahwelshchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We spent two nights in a one bed apartment in April. Had a great experience, nice sized apartment with nice decor, friendly and helpful staff. In a good location being walking distance to Stanley park and the aquarium plus the waterfront. The road outside can be quite noisy although earplugs were provided. My only suggestion for improvement would be to provide a little UHT milk in the apartment for tea etc.

Also great pizza from shop below plus a Starbucks in the same building.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bikinbingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here. It was our second trip to Vancouver and we purposely chose to stay the opposite end of town this time.

What a fab location. Robson Street (towards the Stanley Park end) is a really buzzing place, with loads of great restaurants and cafes. You feel safe walking around this area at night. Venture a few minutes in one direction and you're at the waterfront with all the yachts and modern high-rise apartments. Head in the other direction and you're in the leafy streets of the Robson neighbourhood, with quaint old clapboard houses and apartment buildings. Head up Robson Street and in about 20 minutes you're downtown.

We love being able to prepare our own meals some of the time and the kitchen was really well equipped. Having a large Safeway across the street was a huge bonus.

The commitment to being 'green' was the most genuine we've come across in North America - a bag for recycling that you place outside your apartment each day, toiletries in dispensers rather than individual bottles, even a compost bin which we've never struck in accommodation before (except in Australia and parts of Europe).

The one negative was the combination of street noise and antiquated air conditioner. Our room faced the quieter Denman Street. Street noise with the excellent double-glazed windows would have been fine, had it not also been warm and humid weather. The warm temperatures meant we needed the air conditioner (located in the bedroom) on to be comfortable, as the street noise is so loud you can't have the windows open for any length of time. I can only imagine the suites facing Robson Street are even noisier.

That was fine until we wanted to go to sleep - the air conditioner was so loud and rattly it was impossible to sleep with it on. There was a fan in the wardrobe, which we used instead - but it still made for a fairly uncomfortable few nights and we would not stay again between May to August. We'd choose somewhere quieter or somewhere with a better functioning air conditioner.

Overall, though - a great venue. We thought the secure parking was reasonably priced - after all, you're in a major international city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mareepsasja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom with our 2 small children and loved the extra space. Room were very nice, location was great and staff were friendly and check in and out was easy. Would definitely stay here again. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nezza75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lewis, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed for two nights, arrived on a Friday and left on Sunday morning. Horrible parking situation so you're pretty much forced to pay for parking which I didn't really care for. I arrived at the hotel and tried to check in only to find out that you have to buzz the front desk and have them let you in, and take an elevator down to the basement. Odd, but maybe that's just Canadian hotels? Not much of a lobby and it's just one person working at the front desk during business hours. The key situation is just incredibly annoying. For what you pay to stay in this place you'd think they'd have a better system. A garage door opener, a key for the main door and elevator, and a key to your room. These aren't key cards mind you, they are actual keys! Compared to American hotels its pretty annoying to where most places just give you a key card and you're good to go. No continental breakfast either which I thought was kind of lame. The location is pretty nice, Robson and Denman street are full of a variety of restaurants and little shops that are easily within walking distance along with Stanley Park. Not sure what it was but something made my friend sick and allergic in the room, she'd be fine while we were out but when we'd come back she'd get very congested and achy. Overall, its an okay place but by American standards it just doesn't hold up to even a basic 3 star hotel for what you pay to stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimesSquareSuites, General Manager at Times Square Suites Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We are sad to learn that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us while you were in Vancouver. We do take guest comments seriously since it is an opportunity to learn how to improve the experience, both yours and ours.
We do a regular review of parking rates in Vancouver and we have found that our secure parking is one of the lowest in downtown Vancouver. It is possible to find free street parking but these locations are time sensitive and you would be forced to move your car to many different locations to avoid towing. The city is very strict on this because we have such a densely populated residential base downtown who also need parking.
A couple of years ago we experimented with a continental breakfast for a few months and then surveyed our guests. The majority of feedback told us they preferred to go to Starbucks in our hotel, to shop at Whole Foods or Safeway and get their own supplies or visit one of the local restaurants. We did create and Bed and Breakfast package which includes breakfast at De Dutch which is a locally owned restaurant within a 2 minute walk from our front door. We continue to offer this option.
Each year, we do an analysis on key cards. They also have their issues and for our "home away from home" style of apartment hotel, we have decided to stay with traditional keys in the same style that you would use at home.
It is so important to communicate with us during your stay if there is anything at all that you are not happy or comfortable with. If your suite is not up to your high standards (and ours), we would move you to another suite. We are not aware of any allergens in the suite you stayed in but we will be investigating this immediately.
Our style of hotel is indeed physically different than many American chain style hotels and we pride ourselves on having personality, a great location and attention to cleanliness.
We do appreciate your time to comment and although our hotel may not be a good fit for you, we do hope that you will be back to visit our beautiful city in the future.
Sincerely,
Jacqui McMullen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,515 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Sunset Inn and Suites
Sunset Inn and Suites
#13 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,786 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Times Square Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Times Square Suites Hotel

Property: Times Square Suites Hotel
Address: 1821 Robson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 3E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#6 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#8 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#16 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Times Square Suites Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Times Square Suites apartment-style hotel has been pleasing business travelers, couples and families for many years. Each of the 42 suites has a full kitchen,washer/dryer, fireplace, HD TV and blu ray player. Guests also have access to our rooftop patio with BBQ and a membership to our local fitness centre with indoor pool, squash courts and yoga. Nestled in the West End residential community of Vancouver, two blocks from Stanley Park and an easy walk or transit ride to the heart of downtown. Green Key rating of 4 keys out of 5 for environmental practices! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Times Square Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Times Square Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing