We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Times Square Suites Hotel
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2008

Great value stay in Times Square Suites. The suite is nice - nothing fancy but very functional for spending time in a city. The staff where excellent and very helpful. No compliants. Very convenient as well for seeing Vancouver. Would definintely stay again if I am ever in Vancouver.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Pinkpolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,238 - 1,244 of 1,415 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2008

Fantastic place to stay for a week or longer. Far better value than a hotel for our week in Vancouver - and much more spatious, complete with kitchen!

Stayed: August 2007
7  Thank Review_Monkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2007

Again I stayed at Times Square Suites when I traveled to Vancouver this past week. They always seem to have great service and make you feel right at home. This stay was better than the last. I stayed in a very cozy room with my own washer and dryer, dishwasher, kitchen, air conditioner, fireplace, balcony, fridge, microwave, queen size bed, a living room and bed room with television. Nothing better than falling asleep while watching your favourite late night tv show on a 27'' Samsung LCD TV. Across the street they are doing alot of development to the local grocery store(Safeway and small office building). Only a few blocks East is Stanley Park (as beautiful as ever) and to the West the beach, this hotel's location is perfect. Robson street shopping is a good as ever and with many great restaurant's are only a few blocks away you have alot of decisions for dining. Also with your stay at Times Square you get a free entry to the Denman Fitness Center. They have a gym, pool, hot tub and sauna. I highly recommend Times Square for your next Vancouver trip.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank Bozzy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2007

First -- a little background. We decided this summer to do a 10-day driving vacation, starting in Seattle, then Vancouver, Banff, Glacier National Park, Yellowstone, Grand Tetons, Jackson Hole, and ending in Salt Lake City. As the date for our flight to Seattle drew closer and closer, my work deadlines were keeping me from making reservations. Finally -- with about a week to go -- I turned to tripadvisor.com, read the top hotel reviews for our key stops, then made my reservations. As those of you with more than four in your family (we have five: my wife and me, plus two teenagers and a nine year old) know, it can be a real challenge finding suitable accommodations that don't leave someone sleeping on a sofa or on the floor. Almost without exception, our hotels were real winners, with a couple real gems, and just one clunker. And no one had to sleep on the floor.

While not perfect, Times Square Suites in Vancouver was a great choice, in a great location. We arrived at the property after a LONG drive from Seattle (sat at the border for more than an hour, waiting to cross). It wasn't obvious where we should park to check in -- on-street parking was taken, so we ended up parking in the alley behind the property. Easy and pleasant check in. We were given a nice two-bedroom suite -- the living room was HUGE. Plenty of room for all of us. Well-appointed kitchen, although it's an easy walk to LOTS of great neighborhood restaurants (the Japanese ramen place across the street appeared to be a major attraction -- the line was always too long for us to brave -- and the cafe downstairs was quite nice for breakfast). Massive underground parking structure with more parking than you'll ever need -- perfect for our GMC Yukon XL rental car. Negatives? Well, there was only one air conditioner to cool the ENTIRE suite, and it was in the master bedroom. The other bedroom got NO cool air from it. And, as others have noted, many rooms face out on the main street, and it can get noisy at night. Overall, we were very pleased with the property, and would definitely recommend it.

Stayed: July 2007
12  Thank bizzwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2007

We couldn't have been happier. We had our one-year-old with us and they had every amenity we could need from crib and bedding to high chair to washer and dryer. The room was fantastic (we stayed in a one-bedroom) and the location couldn't be better. Beyond that, the staff was wonderful and answered all our questions and helped us with everything from ferry schedules to places to eat. Even though it's "apartments" you get the service of a hotel in that way. This is the first time i've written a review because it was so great. I just wish it was a little less expensive so we could have stayed longer, but you get what you pay for in this case.

Stayed: September 2007
9  Thank pdxcathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2007

I have stayed in 3 "long term", kitchennette, self catering apartment hotels in Vancouver Downtown and without a shadow of a doubt Times Square is the best.

I stayed in Sandman Suites and Sunset Inn, both near Davie and Burrard as well as Times Square, each for a night to get the general feel of the place. Times Square beat the other two hands down. (Sandman, too much of a hotel feel, Sunset, a bit of a dive). I have stayed in two further rooms at Times Square over the month long stay (while looking for a house to rent) so feel qualified to give my opinion.

Most hotels in Canada offer a monthly rate if you stay over 30 days as they don't have to pay the tax. This can drop the price considerably (to around 50% of the normal rate) if you are staying that long.

Times Square offers a very homely feel and the rooms are better designed. The furniture is what you would expect in your house, not a hotel, the kitchen is well equipped with a dishwasher (free powder) and a washing machine and drier (buy your own powder) tucked away in the cupboard in the Canadian style. The kitchen also has lots of the little things that you need at "home" like sharp knives, colander, potato peeler, that kind of thing, all clean and working perfectly. Someone has obviously put a lot of thought into what you might need.

Cleanliness:
Always clean, everywhere. On shorter stays cleaning is daily I think, on longer stays (month) it is twice a week but to be honest there have only been a couple of days in the month where it wasn't cleaned so I think they come in pretty much everyday. All the common areas are clean and the housekeeping staff friendly.

Security:
Key only access from the street into a small foyer with same key used to call the lift for double protection. Key access to your room with a deadbolt and strong viewing chain - not that you'll need either.

Location:
Robson and Denman is a not glitzy, it's more residential - it is at the start of main residential area near Stanley Park. You can feel comfortable walking late at night on your own. There is a small shop below (give the guy a break, he has just bought it and is really working hard at making sure that it is a success, stop by and tell him what you want to see in the shop!) there are plenty of sandwhich shops and coffee shops within a block and turnonto Georgia and you can see Coal Harbour and Stanley Park, two of the most attractive areas of Vancouver.

Traffic Noise:
The rooms on Denman which are close to the junction have lots of traffic noise especially in the twilight hours - can disturb sleep - these are rooms 211-214 (and respective floors above (311, etc). I stayed 1 night on the Robson side (on a previous visit) and that was OK. I also stayed a week at the rear of the hotel which was near silent!

Finding the hotel when you arrive:
This is difficult but it is better to park round the back where there are spaces, then when you have your parking access you can just drive the car in. Alleyway West of Denman, North of Robson behind the Times Square hotel. Times Square written on white garage door.

Soundproofing:
Some noise can be heard from people walking about upstairs and some non-intrusive toilet flushing but otherwise that is it, nothing from either side. No conversational noise, no hallway noise, very quiet indeed. Dishwasher is fairly noisy but I never heard my neighbours'.

Travelling with an infant?:
The "den" is ideal for a cot, the hotel will remove the small bed in there if you want. Not sure a fully grown adult would want to stay in the den as a bedroom, a bit small.

Internet Access:
Is available on a pay per day with around a $40 cap for longer stays so good value. Fast and reliable hard wired to a standard ethernet socket using a cable which is available from the desk (or use your own).

Parking:
Again is a cost but cheaper than anywhere else. Secure underground parkade with remote entry and access straight up to the hotel. In 30 days at full occupancy in the hotel apparently, I always found a space.

Bathroom and Shower:
Clean and tidy with plenty of power to the shower!

Things they could do better:
I had a couple of terribly minor points with one staff member not knowing what the other was doing with my reservation but you can get that anywhere and it wasn't really an inconvenience.

It's also a bit warm in the rooms but nothing a flick of the airconditioner or opening a window can't fix.

That's about it to be honest.

Overall:
It strikes me that someone has really thought about the hotel "home from home" experience and applied it here.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank Ayup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2007

Just returned from 2 weeks in vancouver. Stayed at the times square suites for 1st three nights. My wife booked it and i was dubious about it as i hadnt heard much about it.
All i can say is that the apartment we had was huge, really clean, private, peaceful ect,,,everything you want in accomodation. Best bit was arriving from the uk at 10 pm and seeing our room, with realaxing music playing from the stereo system and the fire going, just the ideal thing after a long flight. We paid only 450 bucks for 3 nights,, to stay at the shaeraton for a similar size suite wouldve been over 1000, and this is way better. The guys at reception were really good, they spent about 20 mins caloing the greyhound and ferry companys on our behalf and couldnt do enough to help.
We tried booking our last 3 nights there also, but was fully booked.
All i can say is ive stayed in hundreds of hotels and this was the best ever.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank matsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,038 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,583 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,685 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Times Square Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Times Square Suites Hotel

Address: 1821 Robson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 3E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#6 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#8 Best Value Hotel in Vancouver
#16 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $145 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Times Square Suites Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Times Square Suites apartment-style hotel has been pleasing business travelers, couples and families for many years. Each of the 42 suites has a full kitchen,washer/dryer, fireplace, HD TV and blu ray player. Guests also have access to our rooftop patio with BBQ and a membership to our local fitness centre with indoor pool, squash courts and yoga. Nestled in the West End residential community of Vancouver, two blocks from Stanley Park and an easy walk or transit ride to the heart of downtown. Green Key rating of 4 keys out of 5 for environmental practices! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Times Square Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Times Square Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing