We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a 3 brew sampler” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Granville Island Brewing

Granville Island Brewing
Ranked #35 of 345 things to do in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tours of Canada's first modern microbrewery last about a half hour and include a souvenir glass and a taste of four brews. Kids are welcome; they get a taste of root beer. COST: C$8.75. July and Aug., Sun.-Wed. 10-7, Thurs.-Sat. 10-8; Sept.-June, daily 10-7; call for tour times.
Level Contributor
164 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Had a 3 brew sampler”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Rated this a D. Would have been lower if alcohol was not included. May be the original, but it appears they have learned little about what constitutes an enjoyable product and experience. Sorry, but there are better options around.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank rwmentzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    140
    41
    18
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Tour and mutliple visits for more!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We did a tour one afternoon, which was led by a very knowledgeable lady who answered everyone's questions. After the tour we got 3 4oz tasters. Only downside was that you didn't get to choose them, and all had the same. The tour was only for about 10 people at a time so really good to get chance to ask questions.

My husband liked the beer so much that we "had" to go back for a few more visits. You can only get 12oz of beer per person, but that didn't bother us as it was fully explained about their license when we sat down.

Fantastic service and fantastic beer. Best in Vancouver.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catherine2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We took the tour, nice length (about 40 minutes) it didn't get boring, the guide was informative and friendly and we got to try some samples at the end, all good fun!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bakeycake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good beer, and a nice break”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

The brewery is a good stop during a trek through Granville Island...but they do limit you to buying only 12 ounces of beer! So don't plan even drink a pint! The beer is very good, and they have a good retail store on site for logo merchandise and bottles to go.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Art K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to sample beers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

I visited the brewery during an afternoon trip to Granville Island. I loved it. For $6, you could try 4 ounces of 3 different beers (there were 8 to choose from). The staff was knowledgable and friendly. The beer was tasty - I got 6 bottles in a lovely souvenir jute/burlap bag. You could mix and match to make your own six pack. I would return on future visits.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MEL17DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granville Island Brewing also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Granville Island Brewing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing