We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food!”

Chewies Steam and Oyster Bar - Kistilano
Ranked #248 of 3,705 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Kitsilano
Cross street: Yew Street
Transit: We are only a short walk from the #2, 4, 7, 22, 44 and 84 bus routes.
Description: Found in the heart of Kitsilano our soul food New Orleans inspired menu and fresh shucked oysters sourced for the east coast to the west coast of North America our sure to tempt your palate. The buzz and energy that fills Chewies on a nightly basis will whisk you away and leave you so relaxed you will never want to leave. In three words your experience will be... Super, Wicked, Awesome. Our menu features fresh local seafood inspired by the mouth watering flavours of New Orleans. Our steam bar is unique to Vancouver giving guests the chance to experience the true art of steam cooking southern classics such as Gumbo, Seafood Pan Roast & Creole Mussels. You will have an experience you will never forget. Guests can enjoy our patio only 2 blocks from Kitsilano Beach. Our bar pours a wide selection of award winning and locally brewed craft beers. The wine list features wines from Naramata, British Columbia to Mendosa, Argentina and all the way to Marlborough, New Zealand.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We went to the Coal Harbour location for a friends birthday. There were 10 of us and we all loved the food very much. Their wine list is pretty impressive and has something for everyone. My friends had the oysters and they enjoyed them very much. I had their seasonal basket which was scallops and mussels in a creamy white wine sauce with a tea biscuit. It was delicious and very filling!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    59
    27
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We ate here with a last minute booking for 60, they catered very well and the service was excellent. Everyone in our party commented on how good the food was and was great value.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place on a rainy night.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Excellent food, with the non-bacon infused vodka caesar a highlight, with lots of grated horseradish. Oysters - myagis -were perfect plump and well-presented. Next time, I'll try the shrimp and grits.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PerseidVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great for casual meal with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Great Menu! Great Food! Great Service!

Try the Gator and Hush Puppies appetizers, delightful.
Dinner for four, four different meals, all excellent! Server was super friendly.
Very busy so be sure to reserve early to get a table.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DBDowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Oysters Galore”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Chewies second location is 1055 West Hastings ( Coal Harbour) in what was the old Spotted Prawn a few years ago. Centrally located in the business district, you'll find plenty of on-street parking and underground it you prefer.

The restaurant can best be described as a little British Columbia and a little New Orleans.
They have a wonderful Oyster Bar and plenty of Canjun eats on the menu. I had the Crab Cakes with a side of delicious fries and my partner went with the Blackened Chicken, both were knockouts.

The service is excellent, with servers that know the menu and have no problem making suggestions.

The noise level is energetic, therefore you may want to reconsider if you have a high level business lunch. I'll go back to Chewies for dinner, I bet it would be as good as lunch.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chewies Steam and Oyster Bar - Kistilano also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Chewies Steam and Oyster Bar - Kistilano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing