We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing, this hostel makes no effort.”
Review of Samesun Vancouver

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samesun Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2010

I look forward to staying in hostels when I travel because its a great way to meet new people, and in turn this gets you out of the hostel to make the most of the nightlife etc. However, this hostel didnt seem to do very many events and those they did were mainly limited to staying in the hostel common room/downstairs bar. This also meant that the place was constantly noisy and the kitchen was always packed with people having a party in there.

The rooms were fairly standard, mine had lockers but I'm not sure that everyones room has them. Big downside about the rooms was the bedbugs, and to be honest the staff did not seem too bothered about this. I have stayed in my fair share hostels and accept that bedbugs/cleanliness are a common problem, however I feel that the hostel should make more of an effort to keep the problem under control.

Kitchen was fine with good facilities, and pots and pans only available from reception was a good idea as it meant you always got a clean pan (since a lot of people think they dont need to wash up in a hostel!) Unfortunately I got soooo much food stolen whilst staying here, not really the fault of the hostel but gives you an idea of the kind of people staying here and got very tiring coming in from work and finding that some loser has taken your food.

I stayed here for about 6/7 weeks and made a few good mates but couldnt wait to move out. I have to say that a large number of the other guests felt the same way. Very disappointing experience, I have obviously been lucky with other hostels- dont let this one put you off.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pirateninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,331)
There are newer reviews for Samesun Vancouver
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,205 - 1,211 of 1,331 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2009

I found this to be a great hostel. It's not the most amazing place in the world, but it is the cheapest stay in Vancouver. I would recommend this hostel if you are backpacking or enjoy a no-frills stay. Breakfast was great and so were the people. I was surprised to find they have a tv room, pool table, foozball table, wireless internet everywhere, etc. The bar downstairs (named the Beaver) was great for cheap drinks.

My only tip is that if you drive, DO NOT stay in the parking lot nearby. It will cost you over $150/night. Head up the street a but to the HoJo and they'll let you park all night and the whole day for $14!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cramzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2009

This Hostel was very ordinary. Double room didn't have an ensuite and was right across the hall from the male toilets. Our bed had bed bugs!!!!! Plus there were too many stairs.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Stacca6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

My boyfriend and I, are used to youth hostels, but the SameSun in Vancouver was one of the worst we ever done in all our trips. It's not very clean and the sheets were so stinky and dirty.... The people are not very respectful ,they kept talking all night in the hall and that even if you tell them nicely to be quiet...We had hard nights over there and we do not recommended this hostel. If you want to rest and have a good night of sleep don't go there. The breakfast is not very good either and it's cheap quality.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank booshki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

I stayed here three days (because I had reserved for three days and couldn't cancel the reservation without losing money). The sheets were a dingy gray, the shower was stopped up with hair, and there were little critters roaming about. Save up your money for the YWCA or find a place through airbnb. This was not a happy place. Also, if you're not used to city hostels, the noise will keep you up until 4am on Saturday.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moomita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

Want a place in Vancouver that is centrally located, cheap and on the skytrain line? Choose Samesun.
PROS: Location, plenty of backpackers from all over, in the middle of nightlife, cost of room
CONS: Free bkfast consists of toast and juice, mattresses are quite thin (bring an extra pillow), hallways smell like B.O., pretty hard to meet people who are already with friends....

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adukkale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2009

The place was in the centre Vancouver. The staff were very helpful and could answer any questionsi had. The satff was a mix of locals and from all around the world, so I felt very at home. I really enjoyed the bar, the food is cheap and the drinks the same. All in all I would love too go back there, it was great..

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hesher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,742 reviews
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#55 of 92 in Vancouver
414 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,504 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,592 reviews
Gastown
Patricia Hotel
Patricia Hotel
#75 of 92 in Vancouver
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samesun Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samesun Vancouver

Address: 1018 Granville St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1L5, Canada (Formerly Global Village Backpackers)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range: $35 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Samesun Vancouver 1.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The largest hostel in downtown Vancouver with a central location in the entertainment district. We boast a clean environment with a great atmosphere and friendly staff. Everything you need in a hostel! Clean, comfortable, safe and fun, SameSun is the place to stay in Vancouver! You get what you pay for in this city, so if you want the best experience for your stay in Vancouver, check out the #1 rated hostel in the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Samesun Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samesun Backpacker Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing