We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel in Vancouver!!”
Review of Samesun Vancouver

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Samesun Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Best hostel in Vancouver!!”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Samesun is in the most ideal location, staff is incredibly accommodating and helpful, bathrooms, kitchen, and hostel gets cleaned regularly!! I'm already planning my next trip back :) I definetly recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tehyumzorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    494
    158
    43
    33
See reviews for
17
114
680
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I stayed in SameSun, Vancouver over St. Patricks day and it was one of the best weekends I've had. This hostel is set in an unbeatable location; bars, restaurants, shopping, and parks just outside the door. It is also the most social hostel I've been in. They have a bar on the main floor where everyone in the hostel hangs out before they start their night, and if you so choose, you can be (and most people are) seated next to others at tables that aren't completely full yet. My friend and I met a ton of cool people here and we all went out together for a truly legendary night.

I couldn't recommend this place enough. Don't even think about it, just book your room now.

Room Tip: I'm not picky, so just having a bed was enough for me. Personally, I like being roomed in the bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank aconfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

As two older travellers in our 60 s,we loved the buzz and friendliness of this hostel.Our private room was comfortable and the Bar and restaurant was lovely.After full days sightseeing it was great just to pop downstairs for good...and cheap meal. Very good location for all main sights in this city and close to sky train link.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lutins-x2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2014

cool staff, near metro station, good area, near lots of bars and restaurants, value for the money , breakfast was ok, could be cleaner.
if you want to stay for a week or so, very good hostel, not recommended for families or children.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ali R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2014

The hostel made for a good base when wanting to explore downtown Vancouver.
Within walking distance of boutique shopping strips as well as some rare and lovely little gems such as the Golden Age Collectibles Store, just about anything and everything is at your fingertips.

The Beaver situated on the bottom floor of the hostel made for a great place to eat and meet and mix with fellow travellers all at a low cost.

The hostel itself was clean with plenty of amenities to make use of as well as providing daily activities at low or no cost.

The staff are readily available to assist you including tickets for events such as hockey and other local entertainments happening at the time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jadey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I was in transit from Vancouver to Whistler so I stayed overnight at SameSun. I wish I had allotted more time in Vancouver because SameSun seemed like a cool social place for a solo traveller to stay in. I literally only spent 24 hours there (arrived in the afternoon, checked out the following morning, and hung around til the afternoon to recover from jetlag).

For my one night there, I caught up with friends from Vancouver. However, the lounge and bar at SameSun is set-up to be a social environment and I met a few cool people. The room was comfortable, safe and quiet.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jsanmiguel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I was only in Vancouver for 3 days and this hostel was recommended to me. The staff were very friendly and helpful with the exception of one women who decided to have a go at me for not wearing shoes. The rooms were clean as were the bathrooms, the laundry service was cheap and after coming in from the freezing cold it was great to warm up in the communal area where there was a kitchen, TV, lounging area. The breakfast was delicious and great that its included in the cost of your room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjacks0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
Downtown
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
#17 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,732 reviews
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,652 reviews
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#51 of 89 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samesun Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samesun Vancouver

Property: Samesun Vancouver
Address: 1018 Granville St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1L5, Canada (Formerly Global Village Backpackers)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Samesun Vancouver 1.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The largest hostel in downtown Vancouver with a central location in the entertainment district. We boast a clean environment with a great atmosphere and friendly staff. Everything you need in a hostel! Clean, comfortable, safe and fun, SameSun is the place to stay in Vancouver! You get what you pay for in this city, so if you want the best experience for your stay in Vancouver, check out the #1 rated hostel in the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Samesun Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samesun Backpacker Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing