We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place”
Review of Samesun Vancouver

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Samesun Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Always stay at the SameSun hostel when I'm in downtown Vancouver. Awesome atmosphere throughout the hostel..Great buffet breakfast, well maintained and clean rooms, nice helpful staff, great for socializing and the hostel have daily activities ran by a really cool coordinator called Steph who will always make sure you have a great time while you're in Vancouver. Best hostel I've stayed in on my travels so far!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank Cameron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,096 - 1,102 of 1,376 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

We started a years travel with a stay at the Samesun.
When signing in Dan said that by starting there we weren't setting the bar too high!
In fact the bar was set very high, our first hostel was an experience but a really good one.
Everyone was really friendly helpful and happy it didn't matter that they were young and e were wrinklies.
Our room was clean and tidy with comfortable bunks. Breakfast was excellent with enough to drink eat and plenty of people to chat with. A daily special at a good price made diner enjoyable especially with a pint of brown beer. Ask for a warm glass if your English.
Thanks for playing Elvis as we left :-)

Room Tip: All rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank left_handed_fencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Samesun has a fun, friendly atmosphere and definitely one of the better hostels I've stayed in over the course of my travels. The rooms are clean, and comfortable and the hostel itself is in a super, central convenient area. The hostel bar and common room are great places to make new friends! I wouldn't say it is the quietest, but I never had any trouble sleeping etc. I prefer a lively atmosphere during my travels anyway! The staff was very accommodating and helpful, and the mini muffins at breakfast were to die for.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank martab89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Location is very good. Noise is worried about the room. Wi-Fi devices is inconvenient in only one per room. Spring your bet it was a little Kataka~tsu. I lined about 45 minutes to check-in. It is ideal for short stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank maplemoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petegas78, Manager at Samesun Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Hello,

Thanks for leaving us a review. I checked your folio and you were able to register with us straight away but since you arrive around midday your room wasn't quite ready yet, which is why you had to wait about 45 minutes to physically check in. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hostel is in a great area in the downtown area. Easy walk to the waterfront and close to the Skytrain and buses as well. Breakfast is my favorite thing about this hostel, a variety of bread and bagels for toasting and butter, jam and cream cheese for spreading, freshly baked mini muffins, fruit salad, tea, coffee, juice and water - and it's all included!!! They have a whole team of housekeepers that clean the place thoroughly every day and make all the beds for you, yayyyy!!! Staff are all really pleasant as well. This was my first time staying at a Samesun (as I'm a HI girl) but I wanted to give it a try for a change and I wasn't dissapointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jesssvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Perfect location, clean dorm room, friendly staff, wonderful free breakfast, and all kinds of tour and event everyday. The only problem that bothers me is the noise from the bar downstairs. The music was on until ~1am. But generally speaking Samesun is a very nice hostel with great people and services.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jesse L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

What's really best about the hostel is the location. It's in the middle of downtown on granville street and you can walk to pretty much every attraction in the heart of vancouver. The atmosphere was really chill and there was a bunch of nice people hanging out at the hostel. The staff was all really helpful and friendly except for the girls working at the beaver bar. The rooms are small but there's a locker for everyone and at least in our room everything fit really well. The bathrooms were clean at all times and I really appreciated that there's lots of space for your stuff to put in the showers. The breakfast was really good although the times sucked, it ended at 9:30 a.m. Another negative aspect is that it was really, really noisy in the daytime as well as at night (from outside). Other than that a cool place to stay while in Vancouver!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank So_Ma_Ja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Gastown
Patricia Hotel
Patricia Hotel
#78 of 92 in Vancouver
672 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,787 reviews
Downtown
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
YWCA Hotel Vancouver
#14 of 92 in Vancouver
2,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#57 of 92 in Vancouver
428 reviews
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#38 of 92 in Vancouver
824 reviews
West End
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#36 of 92 in Vancouver
1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samesun Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samesun Vancouver

Address: 1018 Granville St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1L5, Canada (Formerly Global Village Backpackers)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range: $28 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Samesun Vancouver 1.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The largest hostel in downtown Vancouver with a central location in the entertainment district. We boast a clean environment with a great atmosphere and friendly staff. Everything you need in a hostel! Clean, comfortable, safe and fun, SameSun is the place to stay in Vancouver! You get what you pay for in this city, so if you want the best experience for your stay in Vancouver, check out the #1 rated hostel in the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Samesun Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samesun Backpacker Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing