We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel, good location, awesome staff”
Review of Samesun Vancouver

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Samesun Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Good hostel, good location, awesome staff”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Enjoyed my stay there though I'm not a fan of hostels. The staff was awesome, many of them being from foreign countries, living the dream of spending time abroad. Rooms were ok, the bathrooms could have been a little nicer. Had a single room first, then joined a group room. I guess it's never really quiet in the shared rooms of a hostel so that is no point of complain from my side. Nice bar, only the breakfast was a little boring after three days already.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sascha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    525
    161
    46
    36
See reviews for
20
123
722
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We booked a private room based on recommendations from both Hostelworld/bookers and Lonely Planet.

Hostel was right in the downtown near the Robson shopping area and Granville Island in the other direction. (Gastown was only a 10-15 min walk too).

Check in was friendly and welcoming, we arrived early and they were happy to let us head to our room after checking it was ready.

We had a private room with en suite which was possibly a bit pricey but the location and the efficiency with which they run this place can't be beat. The room was a bit small and we couldn't open the bathroom door fully as it hit against the bed, room door also had about an inch clearance underneath from an over-zealous planer which meant we could hear all the comings and goings in the shared bathroom opposite (the shared bathroom also had a saloon style door so we could hear people doing what they shouldn't really be overheard doing, along with noisy guests just letting it slam and chattering away early mornings). We did have earplugs but sometimes these weren't enough, there is also a noise curfew but I still don't appreciate being woken up by someone before 7.

It has to be said that the staff here do a sterling job of keeping the place clean and no matter the time of day we always passed them working hard somewhere. They were conducting a deep clean whilst we were there on top of the usual daily so I'm willing to bet you could've got down on the floor and eaten your dinner off it by the time they'd finished.

Plenty of facilities too and lots of activities organised so you could never be bored or have difficulty getting chatting to someone.

I found the breakfast ok, the warm bagels and coffee were a treat but I found the fruit tasted a bit sour. We didn't eat there in the evening so couldn't comment on the burgers etc.

Would recommend generally as centrally located friendly and thoughtfully organised. Maybe not the private en suite though unless you don't mind the squeeze around/in the bathroom and the audible bathroom activities across the hall.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back where the street noise is less noticeable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loungefly_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Central, great location! bathrooms bit dirty at times, good social area and bar, but a bit of a young crowd when we were there made you want to get out, close to the nightlife and all the main sites, helpful staff, good organised activities if you wanted to go on them

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Iwona88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hostel is very busy, being cheaper than other hostel in downtown. The security and staff are excellent. The reception staff/security are very sharp in identifying intruders to the hostel. Witnessed it myself. Restaurant has good valued food, free breakfast was great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PeckSLai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Awesome hostel! Great location and was really easy to meet people here. The Beaver Bar is great and the staff were fantastic. I would definitely recommend SameSun if you're looking for a place to stay in Van!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HANNAH W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Best location(might be noisy at sometimes), free breakfast has sm selections of breads, fruits juice, muffins and bagels. Clean room and friendly staffs.
Price is cheap this location! Stay with Samesun.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hiroko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gimli, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Same Sun backpackers lodge was fun. Oh to be sure the street walkers calling out for business or to keep warm in the am disturb our sleep but it was minimal. We enjoyed the ambiance; full of young people from around the world, enjoying hanging out together and travelling. We as decided old folks were probably a curiosity but felt welcomed. Walking up three floors carrying our bags was a challenge that were were up to, but if your in our grey hair set, you should be aware of. The breakfast was great, with the company of a young man from Denmark, and oj and coffee what more did you need. We found things reasonable, close to the transit and right downtown, with all that that entails. Overall it was great, and would go again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#55 of 92 in Vancouver
404 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,663 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastown
Patricia Hotel
Patricia Hotel
#75 of 92 in Vancouver
648 reviews
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 92 in Vancouver
2,167 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samesun Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samesun Vancouver

Property: Samesun Vancouver
Address: 1018 Granville St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1L5, Canada (Formerly Global Village Backpackers)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Samesun Vancouver 1.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The largest hostel in downtown Vancouver with a central location in the entertainment district. We boast a clean environment with a great atmosphere and friendly staff. Everything you need in a hostel! Clean, comfortable, safe and fun, SameSun is the place to stay in Vancouver! You get what you pay for in this city, so if you want the best experience for your stay in Vancouver, check out the #1 rated hostel in the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Samesun Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samesun Backpacker Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing