We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Samesun Vancouver
Nearby Hotels
$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $298/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

St. Regis Hotel(Vancouver)
$278
$261
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $297/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$338
$287
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Burrard(Vancouver)
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $300/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$483
$318
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $389/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$434
$335
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$294
$260
Suttonplace.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $294/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fairmont Pacific Rim(Vancouver)
$541
$522
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$357
$346
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
$263
$224
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,460)
Filter reviews
1,460 results
Traveler rating
601
592
177
49
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
601
592
177
49
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar downstairsdaily activitiescommon roombed dormsamesun hostelfree breakfastmovie roomgreat locationlynn canyongranville streetfirst floorcommon areasenjoyed my stayclean roomsheart of downtownwould stay againcentral location
Filter
Updating list...
1,273 - 1,278 of 1,460 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2012

For my first time doing the hostel thing, the Samesun sure did a good job at making me feel comfortable. The rooms are a little small but you dont really spend much time in them anyway, but the experience was amazing! the staff are just wonderful and place has a great vibe to it. The provided breakfast is great for setting up for the day and the bar in the evening really goes off. Being close to everything is very handy and if your not sure what to do I highly suggest booking onto a Moose tour! Will be going back with out a doubt.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the washrooms.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

A hostel isn't usually my first choice, but it's a decent hostel overall. The rooms aren't big in size and a full room of 4 can mean you're tripping over everyone's luggage and belongings. However, there are some great facilities including a cinema room, large kitchen and the bar downstairs provides reasonably priced food and drinks as well as live music!

The staff were also very helpful, we'd exhausted most of what Vancouver has to offer so one of the staff members provided information about alternative activities we could do.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joytotravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I've been travelling around all around Europe and stayed in some dodgy hostels but this was easily the worst hostel I've ever stayed in. The rooms are cramped, you can only JUST fit your backpack/suitcase on the floor and you can barely move around when the whole room is full. It doesn't help that it is located on the busiest street in Vancouver and you can constantly hear traffic and the sound of people who clearly couldn't handle their alcohol running up and down the stairs yelling random stuff. The toilets are also terrible, there is like 2 on each floor for about 100 people and 4 showers that have really good water pressure but don't give you any room to put your clothes, shower items, towel etc.

The bar downstairs is pretty cheap though and it has good WI FI but I was glad once I checked out.

Room Tip: Anywhere away from the street
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petegas78, Manager at Samesun Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Hey bud,

Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. It sounds like you were staying in a 6 bed dorm, which do of course have more people and more bags in them. If you are ever unhappy with your room, just ask the front desk and we will do our best to move you to another room. The 6 beds do face Granville St. which is the heart of the entertainment district here in Vancouver, hence some drunken revelry on the weekends. And just letting people know that we have just recently (the past couple of weeks recently) added hooks and shelves in the shower stalls to help people out with their belongings. Each level has 6 showers and toilets, all with recent reno's done on them. Glad you enjoyed the Beaver restaurant, always a good place to meet people. And hopefully the rest of your travels through Canada were filled with moose and bears. =P

Cheers

Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Excellent value for money. Clean rooms & facilities, excellent bar with cheap drinks & food, plenty of activities and chances to socialize and top notch staff. Rooms are secure & quiet despite a very popular bar downstairs and a well appointed common room. Kitchen is well equipped and quite large, along with a movie theater with tons of choices. One of the best hostels I've stayed at.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lachlan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights in September, in a private room, and were pleasantly surprised at the amenities in the room. TV, fridge, hair dryer and 2 towels each, which was great!
A really cool hostel, right in the centre of town, with free breakfast and a bar/restaurant inside it. Really friendly staff too, and must enter a security code to get in and out, so you feel pretty safe.
Only problem was that we had a room right next to the boys toilet and throughout the night people came and went, having conversations...as the walls aren't that thick it was very very loud! Just unlucky where we were I guess!
Over all, pretty good place to stay!

Room Tip: Ask if you can, not to be next to the toilets!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ailidh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews