We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome atmosphere”
Review of Samesun Vancouver

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samesun Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2012

For a solo traveller, this place was fantastic for meeting people. Everyone was so friendly, and it helps that there is a common area with a pool table for people to mingle over. The bar/restaurant downstairs is awesome service, and very affordable (STRONG) drinks! The rooms can be very crowded, but the beds are fine. The showers and toilets are good too. Would reccommend this place compared to HI Vancouver Central which is across the road- much more of an atmosphere here.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
Thank woodsyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,176 - 1,182 of 1,347 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

A very unkept, dirty hostel which is a shame considering the potential of the place. Staff seemed helpful enough, although its a shame the samesun management dont employ cleaners. The hostel needs about 6/7 additional staff to clean the place on the regular basis. My 6-bed room had a mound of dust (probably years old) underneath it.... and the The washrooms were always full of turd stains!

Positives: Good central location and cheaper than the other hostels nearby. Just a shame the management only care about $$$$ and don't give a sh1t about the state of the place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petegas78, Manager at Samesun Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Hey there,

It may not seem like it to you, but we do care a great deal about the building and more importantly the people staying in it. We all travel a lot and appreciate everything that goes into the building. We have great cleaning crew who work very hard here and if you ever have issues or need something, just ask one of them or the front desk. We're always keen to help a fellow traveler out. Turd stains you say eh? We'll clean those too!

All the best,

Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hostel is in a very good location but it has not got a great atmosphere. It is hard to socialise and get to know other backpackers as your not supposed to drink alcohol in the hostel and the outdoor area where people do socialise is closed at 11pm every night. There is a bar downstairs but you have to buy food to drink there. There is a large enough kitchen however it has no oven, just hobs and a microwave.
The wifi is atrocious... Very frustrating for such a large hostel. As we are travelling we need wifi to book the next part of our trip, research hostels, book tickets and to stay in contact with family. This is a huge downside to samesun backpackers.
On the plus side, the hostel is clean and safe but I don't think I'd return in a hurry. Also there are cameras everywhere which makes me feel uneasy and unable to relax.
Oh and there is no air-con!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuzieQBalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petegas78, Manager at Samesun Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Hello,

I wish we were allowed an oven in our building, but for various city related reasons, we aren't. Oh well. Another city law is no drinking in public spaces, which common areas are considered. But we're not going to go around sniffing coffee mugs if you get my drift. We also have a cheap bar downstairs, a great place to meet people. You didn't like big brother eh? That's there for everyone's safety, all 25 cameras. It allows us to keep things quiet at night among other things.

Cheers!

Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I can be a little skeptical on hostels but was pleasantly surprised at how organized they are over at the Samesun Vancouver! Beds were very good and rooms had plenty of room when fully occupied. In a great location on Granville Street, the free breakfast is great if you get in early as well! Bathrooms were always just finished being cleaned every morning while I was heading there and the common area is a great place to chill or reap in the free wifi. No lift, only stairs was hard as a lot of people had suitcases and struggled to get them up.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lost_on_foot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Fantastic location right in downtown, friendly helpful staff. We stayed in a mixed dorm that didn't face the street so it was quiet and we slept well. No air-con and the room did get very hot. Breakfast was great; coffee, toast, bagels and fruit good start to the day. Bar downstairs good for a decent value evening meal. Wouldn't say there was a great hostel atmosphere but everything was clean and tidy and we slept well in a great location so I rate it excellent as it ticked all the boxes.

Room Tip: Quieter room are at the back of the hostel not overlooking Granville St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I have stayed in both shared & private rooms at the Samesun & it's been great. The privates include a fridge & iPod docking system/TV too - luxury! The dorms are clean, small & offer large lockers. The bar is fantastic & adds to the overall friendly vibe of the place. We also enjoyed the free breakfast. Friendly staff too; in all a great place. We went on to stay on the Samesuns in Kelowna & Banff & they were of a similar high standard.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amber C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Samesun Vancouver is conventiently based not for from skytrain station.
It's easy to find when you come from the airport and not very far.

Good point :
-The free breakfast every morning is good ! Bagels, toast, fruit. No eggs or salty stuff but i don't like that anyway so was perfect for me
-The lockers in the room are big enough to put most of your stuff.

Not so good point :
- The temperature in the room was awfull ! The « fan » provided was really not enough and I barely slept because of the heat (even if it was not that out outside)
- The bathroom are quite small for such a big place, especially toilets are not easy to enter in

But even with thoses point, I consider samesun backpacker is quite good for an hostel in such a big city.
And very cool staff too ;)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amyonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,758 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,524 reviews
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#52 of 92 in Vancouver
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#57 of 92 in Vancouver
418 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,718 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samesun Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samesun Vancouver

Address: 1018 Granville St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1L5, Canada (Formerly Global Village Backpackers)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range: $32 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Samesun Vancouver 1.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The largest hostel in downtown Vancouver with a central location in the entertainment district. We boast a clean environment with a great atmosphere and friendly staff. Everything you need in a hostel! Clean, comfortable, safe and fun, SameSun is the place to stay in Vancouver! You get what you pay for in this city, so if you want the best experience for your stay in Vancouver, check out the #1 rated hostel in the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Samesun Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samesun Backpacker Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing