We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beds are great, but....”
Review of Samesun Vancouver

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Samesun Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Beds are great, but....”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

The private rooms and dorms are great, well set up, secure and cleaned every day. It's the things that happened outside of the rooms is where the problems exist with this hostel.

We are a couple and have stayed at the Samesun Vancouver on Granville Street for the last 3 weeks with a few week stints before that in 4 bed dorms, private rooms and private rooms with ensuite. The rooms are great, clean and all come with a personal reading lamp, shelf in your bed area, fan and ample power outlets.

Sadly the staff are hit and miss and it seems that the female staff who dont work on the front desk seem to have an elitist attitude here towards men and women. My wife was getting changed and the female cleaning staff demanded to come into the room to clean and would not wait the extra minute or two for her to finish changing. She would not take no for an answer and made my wife change with the door open while she was in the room. A particular female staff member has a regular routine of entering the media room half way through movies and talks really loudly with her friends and other staff and refuses to be quiet even when asked several times.

The front desk staff are amazing, helpful, friendly and a pleasure to interact with. These people and the room cleanliness certainly raises the review score.

We have stopped cooking in the guest kitchen because of the state it is left in by other guests, the constant theft of food from our clearly labeled containers and the smoking room being attached to the kitchen.

We have had food moved from our labeled containers and put in the free food fridge before our clearly marked check out date and we have found our ingredients in other peoples containers less than an hour after purchasing the food.

The clean up area in the kitchen is like a bomb hits it at 6pm every night even though the kitchen is cleaned between 2pm and 4pm. Other guests do not clean up after themselves, put food scraps in the sink, do not clean dishes and rarely put them away if they are cleaned.

With the smoking room attached to the kitchen, there is only 6 seats available for you to eat your meal without a fog of smoke around you. If the wind is blowing, the smoke comes into the kitchen and makes you enter the common area which is well utilized and often crowded with other guests.

The bathrooms are cleaned daily but we are still wondering why they are always so wet. Puddles of water, slippery floors and dirty mirrors are something you get used to.

Pros:
Front desk staff
Free breakfast with bagels or a $2 hot meal
Clean rooms
Room layout and features
Wifi
Common Rooms inc. media room
Onsite bar
Activities

Cons:
Female staff (who are not on the front desk) are rude and disruptive to guests
Smokers room near kitchen
Food thieves
Kitchen cleanliness
Water puddles and bathroom cleanliness

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B_C154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    499
    158
    43
    34
See reviews for
17
117
684
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

It wasn't anything exceptional. I've seen nicer hostels and I've seen worse. I would stay here again without a doubt. We met some really cool fellow backpackers that we went out with. The staff was friendly. The food was OK. nothing special. if you want a 'good' meal, go out. but if you want a 'cheap' meal, then it's ok to eat here.

Room Tip: expect various kinds of roommates
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryKPSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Samesun has everything a backpackers hostel needs: good showers, a great common room, a nice bar and an atmosphere that makes it easy to meet fellow travellers. The bar downstairs serves a great complimentary breakfast and cheap meals in the evening. The daily programmes in the bar are a good way to meet groups over a couple of pints and the rooms are perfectly in order. To finish it off it is centrally located and has high-pressure showers, I'm going back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLDTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Since I'm not 19 or 20 anymore, I thought that I would completely hate staying in a hostel. I was surprised to see people of all ages from all over the globe cooking, watching television, touring, and drinking together. The front desk staff was available 27/7 for anything from directions to clean towels. The location was right in the heart of the action. Rooms were clean and had large windows that could be opened. Bathrooms and kitchen were clean. The only thing that I disliked was the noise on the late nights I wasn't out contributing to it!

Room Tip: ask for it or get a since/double room with a friend
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yolanda4716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hostel is party central but I guess knew that going there. After a 4 day stay it became rather familiar and homey. It's in a great location if you want someplace in central Vancouver. It's only about 5 blocks to the skytrain station and about two blocks to the great art museum. There's a decent pizza and pasta place across the street and an Irish pub next door. I was initially in a 6 person dorm room facing Granville but after the first night I was able to get switched to a four-person dorm room one floor above and away from Granville. That made a big difference in the noise off the street, earplugs also helped.

Cons: flimsy beds that squeak, noisy, messy at times
Pros: friendly atmosphere, $2 breakfasts in the lounge, great location, cheap!!

Realistically I'd give this hostel a 3.5 out of 5 but I'm going with a 4 because other than the noise and the odd bit of confusion it's a cheap, well-located place to stay if you want to explore Vancouver city.

Room Tip: Get a room away from Granville Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greenhikergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

i can recommend it.

friendly helpful staff, great atmosphere, neat and clean. top location too.

Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Right in the heart of Granville St for Partying! I lived here on and off for while. The bar was good and everyone was friendly. Met many cool people here. My room was always right next to the street so it was ALWAYS loud but you get used to it i guess if you pack Ear Plugs. I was working so not sure on the tours or anything. But a Bar and good cheap food is always great. Bed's were comfortable and never a problem with the internet. Never had problems with bed bugs like people report but the times staying I've never heard of any complaints from anyone. Kitchen is also a good size too. Good central place to party! How ever, the Bathrooms were by far the worst I've seen!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobTrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
The Kingston Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 90 in Vancouver
1,575 reviews
West End
Best Western Plus Chateau Granville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 90 in Vancouver
3,713 reviews
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#52 of 90 in Vancouver
816 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 90 in Vancouver
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samesun Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samesun Vancouver

Property: Samesun Vancouver
Address: 1018 Granville St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 1L5, Canada (Formerly Global Village Backpackers)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Samesun Vancouver 1.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The largest hostel in downtown Vancouver with a central location in the entertainment district. We boast a clean environment with a great atmosphere and friendly staff. Everything you need in a hostel! Clean, comfortable, safe and fun, SameSun is the place to stay in Vancouver! You get what you pay for in this city, so if you want the best experience for your stay in Vancouver, check out the #1 rated hostel in the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Samesun Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samesun Backpacker Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing