We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forbidden Vancouver Walking Tours

Forbidden Vancouver Walking Tours
Book In Advance
$19*
and up
Lost Souls of Gastown Walking Tour
Ranked #6 of 138 Tours in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Discover Vancouver's dirty history with Forbidden Vancouver. Now staging walking tours Lost Souls of Gastown, Prohibition City, and special event Secrets of the Penthouse. The company was established in 2012 by Founder and Chief Storyteller, Will Woods. After an early mid-life crisis, Will left his desk job to take his twin passions of theatre and history out onto the streets of Vancouver. The company now has 10 guides, and a team of writers and researchers digging up the dirt on Vancouver's dirty history. If your idea of adventure is following your guide down lamp lit alleyways, back to a world of illegal booze, opium dens, and unsolved murders, then you'll love Forbidden Vancouver.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I went on the tour with a couple of girlfriends last Saturday before heading out for dinner and drinks in Gastown. It was funny, entertaining and super informative – what an awesome way to spend an evening! Will’s theatrical delivery and well developed story made me feel what it would be like to live in Vancouver in the 1800’s. Yikes, I’m pretty happy to be living here now. :) Thanks Will for bringing the history of Gastown to life. I highly recomment this tour!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kasia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    55
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly Entertaining and Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was definitely one of the best walking tours I have been on. Will greeted the tour group in a warm and friendly manner and went on to deliver a very engaging tour with his fine acting and story-telling abilities. Prepare to be transported to the late 1800's when Gastown was in its infancy and ripe with intriguing (and sometimes shady) characters. You'll be entertained and also learn some things about Gastown you may not have known. This is a great event/activity to enjoy with friends, family or your significant other. Finally, the tour leaves you with a sense of mystery and curiosity as you make off into the evening where you can enjoy some great post-tour grub at any of the fine restaurants Gastown has to offer. Check it out!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank coconut_verbena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Captivating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I took my boyfriend on this tour to do something a little different on 'date night'. I was mesmermized by the story and Jason thought it was like watching the History Channel but in real life!

I learned so many interesting facts about Vancouver and reccomend this tour to everyone!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank misfit311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Informative Captivating Walking Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is the most engaging tour of Vancouver I have ever been on. We went with our office and everyone had a wonderful time.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We attended the tour two weeks ago with friends visiting from overseas. It was delightful and interesting. I have never seen Vancouver like this and since then I have a better eye for the details of the city. Thank you Will for a great afternoon, we plan on booking the Halloween Special, too.
Keep up the good work, cheers!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank tabtabea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forbidden Vancouver Walking Tours also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Forbidden Vancouver Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing