We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extra! Extra! See the City of Vancouver in a New Light!”

Forbidden Vancouver Walking Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$20.44*
and up
Prohibition City Downtown and Chinatown Walking Tour
More Info
$20.44*
and up
Lost Souls of Gastown Walking Tour
More Info
$177.69*
and up
Vancouver Private Walking Tour of Downtown Chinatown and Gastown
Ranked #7 of 162 Tours in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Discover Vancouver's dirty history with Forbidden Vancouver. Now staging walking tours Lost Souls of Gastown, Prohibition City, and Secrets of Stanley Park. If your idea of adventure is following your guide down lamp lit alleyways, back to a world of illegal booze, opium dens, and unsolved murders, then you'll love Forbidden Vancouver.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Extra! Extra! See the City of Vancouver in a New Light!”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

After reading a great review in the local newspaper we signed up for a mid week edition of this tour.
Will, our guide had obviously done extensive research on the rich history of a changeable period in Vancouver. His passion for the subject matter came through in his extremely entertaining yet at the same time thought provoking presentation. Despite having lived here our entire lives we had previously passed by many of the places we visited on this tour without a second glance.
We would highly recommend this very reasonably priced, polished tour - and should Will come up with any more tours of other areas of our city we would not hesitate to sign up for those as well!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank emb81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    594
    72
    9
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun night out!”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

A group of friends recently signed up for this walking tour and were so glad we did! It was a really fun way to spend an evening.

Most of us are local to Vancouver and found it fascinating to learn all about Vancouver's history. Mr Woods & Mr. Boulevard kept us engaged the whole time and really included us all in the tour.

The tour ends in Gastown amongst some great patios & restaurants. My friends and I spent the next hour talking about all the information we had just learned.

A must for any visitor or local!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kristen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Time Well Spent”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We joined Will on this well-planned foray in to the seedier side of Vancouver and found it a most enjoyable evening. We immediately warmed up to Will's charm and humour, his knowledge of the history of the City of Vancouver and his relaxed manner ensured that we all learned a great deal and had fun doing so. Will’s voice carried well over the street and rather than always reeling off facts, he engaged our group by asking questions. We would huddle in a group in an alley or off to the side of a street, saving us from being a bit of side show while honouring the privacy of the people who live there. Everyone appeared to be at ease and it felt very much like we were out for a walk and talk with a friend. The tour lasted 90 minutes and while we moved at a leisurely pace, there was no time for dawdling. The time flew by and people seemed to want to linger on after Will's announcement that the tour was over. It was evident to all that Will had put a great deal of thought and time into making "Forbidden Vancouver" an event filled with memorable facts and laughter. As someone who has walked down these streets and past the buildings many times, I highly recommend Will’s tour as an excellent evening’s entertainment and an opportunity to learn the fascinating facts about the City.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank KathieVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't Miss The Forbidden Vancouver Tour...It's a "12"”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Do yourself a favour and do the Forbidden Vancouver Tour. I learnt so much about the city. There are certainly sights, that if you're a local, like me....you'll be checking out twice when you drive or walk by them!!! I will definitely be taking out of town guests on this tour when they come to visit. Thank you Will. BT

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peppy888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A DELIGHTFUL SURPRISE”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This was even better than I expected.
I loved having a notepad to jot down facts that I wanted to remember.
The stories were facinating and endless.
We all want to know the forbidden facts / the real story behind the story.
Will is a great investigative reporter - you get the goods!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank linsc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forbidden Vancouver Walking Tours also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Forbidden Vancouver Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing