We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vancouver
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ashby House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 52 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Montreal, Quebec
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2007

When we first arrived at Ashby House we were greeted by the welcoming hosts, Mary Anne and Robin, as well as their wonderful cat Sampson. The house is located right downtown, just minutes away from great shopping (Robson street) and relaxed walks on the beach.

I have to say, my favorite part of our stay was the breakfast. Every
morning we were fed eggs, bacon, delighful pancakes, and amazing home made jam. Our hosts were so informative, they were always sure to point you in the right direction, whether it be a day in Stanley Park or dinner at one of their favourite local restaurants (Saveur!).

Our stay in Vancouver was fantastic, we really enjoyed both the city and our stay at Ashby House.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank Baratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    13
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
22
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2007

We'd stayed at several B&B's in the past, and have always enjoyed them for their comfortable accommodations, hearty breakfasts, and host insights into the area. Not here! When we first arrived the owner told us their friend decided to visit during our stay and they decided to give her the room we had reserved MONTHS in advance - which was a room with two twin beds and a private bath on the top floor. They put us in the musty basement on pull out beds/sofas that had the worst mattresses we'd ever had the misfortune to sleep on - and we had to share a bathroom down there. They promised to move us after their friend left. On the day we were to move, no one said anything until we told them we were ready to move. They said they were going to leave us in the basement. They acted put out and made up the upstairs bedroom. It was so much more comfortable than the basement! But the cat stood outside our door and meowed all night! At breakfast, the dog bit our feet, they never cleaned the tablecloth even days after jam was spilled on it, they served the same thing all 4 days we were there, and they had an attitude with guests who wanted to visit certain parts of the city they viewed as unworthy. On the plus side, the location is great!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — not honoring our reservation
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank EKS_Traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
155 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2006

Step back in time. Yes away from the shiny skyscrappers of "new" Vancouver remains a little oasis. An olde worlde home & way of life. Ashby house, over 100 years old& the timbers holding up well. An unusual restful place in a busy city. Met some fab interesting people during my weeks stay here in June 2006.
Nothing was too much trouble for my hosts Mary Anne & Robin who made me feel exceptionaly welcome. Indeed within minutes I felt I was staying with old friends not a commercial B & B.
Lovely poached eggs for breakfast, all cooked to order, Mary Anne & Robin will rustle up almost anything for you.
Watch out for McLeod though, the cuddly Scottie dog who just loves a nibble at shoe laces.
A fine place to stay & highly recommended.
Thanks
Andy
Manchester UK

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Narrabeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2006

Finally, a bed and breakfast that isn't uptight! It is fabulous to have found Ashby House and I am always telling people about it. You can eat breakfast whenever you want, you can come and go as you please and the conversation is excellent. I highly recommend Ashby House. You will enjoy it immensely. Hosts Robin and Mary Ann are real characters and they have managed to create a truly lovely space that doesn't have that overly matched/creepy frilly thing that many bed and breakfasts have. They are a real treat. You should stay here!

  • Stayed August 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2005

I travel for a living, I've been across this country numerous times. Dealing with smelly places, communication barriers, and bad service is common place and those are just the cabs. If I never smell a bleached towel again, have a maid walk into the room when the "Do Not Disturb" sign is hanging or wonder why my non smoking room has ashtray in I will be be a happy man.

So when I am in Vancouver I am a happy man. My many stays at Ashby House have not only been warming to my cochles (took a leap on that spelling) but nurturing for the soul. Strange and wonderful to stay in someone's house but never feel out of place, welcome always, and it comes complete with a hypo-allergenic cat (severe allergy here, and we are great cohorts)

Your minutes from shops on Robson a few minutes from cool little restaurants on Davie Street and about 15 minute walk to Granville Market. It is just perfect, in a world of crazy travels and mean spirits it is nice to come home.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2005

Ashby House is a small B&B in Vancouver's West End. The house itself is over a century old, and has been (is being -- an ongoing task) lovingly restored by the owner operators, Mary Anne MacNeill and Robin Richardson. While the facilities are modern — water is hot and plentiful, and electrical is up to code, the feel of the house is very Victorian. When one comes in, one steps back to a time of less hurry and scurry. This is not a house that caters to the high-tech road warrior. The rooms have no phones, no internet access, and cell phones at the breakfast table are frowned upon.

This is a house of books! Book cases in the hallways, bookcases in the bedrooms, bookcases that are doors to secret passages. Each room is named after a famous English man of the arts: Sir Walter Scott, Oscar Wilde, and James Whistler.

A dozen blocks one way to Stanley Park. A dozen the other way to Gastown. A few blocks and a ferry ride to Granville Island Market -- a paradise of artisans and artists. Mary Anne knows the area well, and is, if asked, a fountain of advice and recommendations for visitors.

The beds are good, and the second B of this class, the breakfast, is first rate. There is a selection of cereals, yoghurt, and fruit. Robin will cook you any number of eggs to your specification, and accompany them with sausage and bacon. There is both coffee (quite strong, and very good) and tea. (Untested.)

The front porch overlooks the front garden. It is a peaceful place to read and watch the world go by. A place of nearby bird song, and distant city noises.

In addition to being charming, both of my hosts were articulate, well educated, and opinionated. Far from argumentative, they would discuss almost any topic with thoughtfulness. We watched this in action as Mary Anne and Robin explained facets of Canadian life to a young tourist from Berlin, Germany. As far as we are concerned, this is the only place to stay in Vancouver. English is the only language spoken fluently, but the international nature of the guests makes it more than possible that a translator will be handy.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2005

Great location, reasonable price, charming decor, and hosts with character to spare. I had a really nice time staying at the Ashby House, and I hope to return someday. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DJStuart87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,410 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,603 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,325 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashby House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashby House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ashby House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 989 Bute St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1Y7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing