We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staffed by bullies”

The Pint Public House
Ranked #1,209 of 3,730 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Gastown
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Staffed by bullies”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

If i could rate this place any less than terrible, I would. The door staff were incredibly rude and over aggressive to both men and women in our party who had just gone there with the expectation of having a safe, fun evening celebrating Halloween. In fact, one girl ended up in hospital getting stitches in her hand after one bouncer pushed her down whilst she held a glass, and another girl was yelled at in her face for innocently 'using the wrong door' to re-enter after going outside. Most disgustingly of all, two men form our party (after being unprovokingly punched by drunks on the dance-floor) were dragged outside, handcuffed, then repeatedly punched in the head by the people who are supposedly there to keep the customers safe. We will NEVER be going back there and recommend that any others who don't like the sound of being a punch bag for a bunch over aggressive bullies give this place a very wide berth!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    34
    11
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cloverdale, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really cool pub close to Rogers”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Were recommended this place by a hot dog vendor. Their wings were great! We ordered an appy platter and it was way bigger than we expected, well worth the cost. They also have Kokanee on tap, a lot of places don't so that's an added bonus for us! Will definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goby2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, Usa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, staff and atmosphere...”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed this pub. We went on a Tuesday night and had a pitcher of beer and a plater for around $35 with tip. They had a hockey game on which made it fun atmosephere to people watch. Creared out kinda early. Week days things dont stay open late. Must go and try bourbon bbq sause.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
82 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Go before/after Canucks game”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

On our way to the Canucks game and came across this pub. The place is only a few blocks from Roger's Arena and was packed right before the game. Atmosphere was good, drink and food specials, and service was pretty good considering how busy it was. Standard pub food, nacho's, wing's, burgers etc. We had a couple appetizers, pint sliders and thai chicken bites, both were pretty good. After the game we had to walk past it again and it was just as busy as before the game. Good place to go before or after a Canucks game for some drinks and a bite to eat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“a fun place for a younger crowd”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

In the Lotus Hotel (corner of Pender and Abbott) this bar takes up most of the main floor. It was jammed on a Saturday night, and the crowd was mainly under 30. This was a well-dressed, urban crowd. We are older, but the doorman let us skip the line and would not take a "gratuity" for it. We had a few drinks, and thoroughly enjoyed the people watching (this place reminds me of the Orient Hotel at "The Rocks" in Sydney Harbour). We then walked the five minutes to the "Keefer" which is more of a lounge, and caters to people over 30. Both places are tons of fun, even for "old" folks in their 40's and 50's.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank a-canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pint Public House also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to The Pint Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing