We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Town Bakery & Restaurant

New Town Bakery & Restaurant
Ranked #322 of 3,539 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
113 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

What a fantastic, authentic place. Excellent take out and dine-in be it for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Delicious congee, buns, shrimp wraps, and much more.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eric j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    40
    20
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mound, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Chinese bakery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

It is crowded and you had to take a number...also cash only, but it was well worth it. Awesome coconut buns! I also has the sesame balls and there were good too. I know this will be a place we go every time we are in Vancouver.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
112 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great chinese pastries.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The New Town Bakery is a must stop when ever we are in Vancouver. They have a great selection of Chinese baked and steamed treats. Many of these treats are the sweet staples of dim sum. The quality is excellent, some of the best I have had anywhere. My favorite is the sesame balls filled with red bean paste (chin tui). Also good are the egg tarts, and steamed bau. I have never eaten at the restaurant, so no recommendation for that part. These pastries are best served in the mornings.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TanMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great bakery, poor restaurant!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I had my first ever steamed veggie bun here and it was delicious. I even came back to get another one the next day and sat down in the restaurant to eat. It is a pretty hectic place with a not very flattering inside, but that always has its charm too! However, the food was disappointing. Choosing from a vast amount of courses, I had the Buddha Vegetable and it was mostly slimey even if the taste was not too bad. Price wise the pastries and buns are cheap for what you get but the food is the other way around!

If I were to go here again, I would stay within the bakery section and get a few items to go, not eat in. It is definitely worth a visit to see all the chinese delicacies and try one of the buns (open up the top and pour some soy sauce in there before you leave, it is great).

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hildans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Fresh baked Chinese pastry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Spend under $2 and you can have your breakfast or snack in less than 5 minutes. Follow your nose to this busy bakery in Chinatown. Take a number and hope they don't run out of the heavenly piña-coco bun. Fresh ones come out of the oven after 10. Before that, you can have a loaded BBQ pork bun.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank AuntieJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Town Bakery & Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to New Town Bakery & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing