We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh baked Chinese pastry” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Town Bakery & Restaurant

New Town Bakery & Restaurant
Ranked #373 of 3,680 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
149 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Fresh baked Chinese pastry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Spend under $2 and you can have your breakfast or snack in less than 5 minutes. Follow your nose to this busy bakery in Chinatown. Take a number and hope they don't run out of the heavenly piña-coco bun. Fresh ones come out of the oven after 10. Before that, you can have a loaded BBQ pork bun.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank AuntieJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    47
    24
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great sit-down eatery and bakery take out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This place was recommended by my cousin who lives in the city. It has that brightly-lit, busy kitchen atmosphere, but the it's clean, friendly, reasonably priced and the food was just GREAT! I had the Black Pepper Hotpot noodles and we all agreed it was the best. We bought a variety of exotic-looking baked goods to try (all very good) on our way out the door. Yum! Be sure to have cash on you (no credit here); Canadian is best as there is an up-charge for American dollars.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HomeschoolontheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Norfolk. England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Vancouver Trip 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We visited this Bakery/Restaurant 5 years ago on our first visit to Vancouver and on returning to China Town noticed that they had moved a couple of doors down to new premises.

The bakery side is, as always, wonderful, and the Restaurant now more spacious offers an excellent choice of menu, waiting staff are very attentive bringing hot tea as soon as you are shown to your table, all meals freshly cooked as we had a view straight into the kitchen area.

As other reviews have mentioned the "Steamed Buns" are great not skimped on at all.

Have often been told before if the locals eat there then it must be good.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kelvfrom21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Steamed Buns - Especially Their Bola-Bola”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

Guys, you have to come see them hot Asian buns here! They are delicious looking ... Oops, did I say that out loud? Not those, silly. The steamed ones, of course. =)

The buns at New Town Bakery are soft and fluffy and they don't skim on the fillings. My favourite is the one with a duck egg yolk in it. However, the BBQ pork buns could be more porky though. Har Gow and Siu Mai were quite decent but I would come here for their tasty egg custard tart and apple tarts. Egg tarts were smooth and soft while the apple tarts were flaky on the outside and lightly sweet on the inside. They also serve savoury items like chow mein but I didn't care for it so much.

Probably not the best place to go if you are looking for a full dim sum experience but New Town has excellent baked pastries, steamed buns, and simple dim sum items. There's always a line when ordering and it shows how popular this place is. It's cash only.

My only complaint is that lady servers were doing a better job watching and cheering on Jeremy Lin playing basketball on TV than serving customers. Ah well, it's all good. I was cheering with the aunties as well. Go Jeremy, make us proud!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank kwokmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“This joint is hopping..... The only place for super good 'steamed buns'...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

The day we went it was 2 days before Chinese New Year. You're lucky if you could get inside the door. A young lady was handing out 'numbers' to be called out for service.
The place is newly renovated. Nice.
Service have to improve though. Waitress gave us a table but it took us 4 times to get someone to clean the table and supply us with clean settings. Is that service or CHAOS?
Other than that incident overall the restaurant food and bakery is good.
Customers order their famous Tai-Pao (bola-bola) and BBQ Pork steamed buns by the dozen. Don't forget Apple Tarts...mmmmmm....
I usually buy 6 dozen steamed buns (heavy) to Montreal...that's all they want.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Geeeeeee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Town Bakery & Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to New Town Bakery & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing