We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this place”

Kishimoto Japanese Kitchen
Ranked #77 of 3,730 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Commercial Drive
Seattle
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
Reviewed August 30, 2014

I am not a Japanese food lover. I was vacationing in Vancouver with my 2 teenage grandsons who do love Japanese food. So I decided to go to Kishimoto. I have to say I really liked the food here! The four of us all had a different dish and we shared. Everything at the table was delicious. Service was excellent despite it being extremely busy. The place is small so expect a wait. The prices are a bit high, but we were on vacation and expected that. The food is worth it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dwillend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    30
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fresh Beautiful Sushi”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Despite the fact that you WILL have to wait to get into this restaurant (usually 45 min minimum, unless you get lucky), it is worth the wait. It is a little pricier than the average sushi restaurant, but if you want fresh food with good plating this is the place for you. We always ask for dishes to be changed so they are gluten free and it is never a problem. Everything is delicious. It's a must try on Commercial Dr.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Optirealist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver |Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

I had lunch here with a colleague. Even though we arrived shortly after 1:00 pm, we still had to wait for 20 minutes. Normally I would not have waited but I had not seen my colleague for some time so we had a lot to talk about. It was definitely worth the wait. Even though I ordered a simply vegetable bento box, it was the best bento I've ever had. The veggie tempura was crispy and crunchy and the spinach gomae was so good we ordered extra portions. The presentation of the food here is spectacular and we found ourselves ogling other diners' plates for the beautiful artistic touches, like little pony glasses of ginger and little candles. The service was highly attentive as well. Definitely recommended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank harteld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST SUSHI IN VANCOUVER”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

This is the best sushi place ive ever eaten at and ive eaten at a lot. I love taking my family here. Ive had birthday dinners here and many more. Its the best sushi place! It really takes you into a real japanese atmosphere because the workers are japanese and are all very very friendly. I could live off of this food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oveltone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Eat with your eyes”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

My family took me to this excellent sushi restaurant on a recent trip to Vancouver. All was beautifully served with daikon pinwheels on artful platters. The sushi was wonderfully tasty. Excellent, attentive service. It was worth the 15 minute wait in line. We ordered crispy beet salad, shrimp tempura, tuna sashimi, ebi oshi sushi ( their specialty), omg rolls, and little princess rolls. I loved the omg rolls with crunchy tempura bits. Will definitely return on my next Vancouver trip.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grandma_sue63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kishimoto Japanese Kitchen also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Kishimoto Japanese Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing