We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great desserts, great cafe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thomas Haas

Thomas Haas
Ranked #8 of 173 Coffee & Tea in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Kitsilano
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great desserts, great cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Head down to Thomas Haas for out of this world pastries, sweets, cakes or a great cup of coffee. They are extremely helpful and knowledgable and Chef Thomas has created a line of delectable desserts for any occasion.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DWG10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    15
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Croissant ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I frequent Thomas Haas for their chocolate and read a review that they have the best croissants in the city. Absolutely agree, I raved about the croissants when we visited Paris and these are comparable. Very flaky not bread like or doughy. Will return for more.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Goodstay_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Coffee Event Better Pastries and Chocolates”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

The first time we experienced Thomas Haas there was only one location in North Vancouver. We had to take the water bus from downtown to North Van. And we walked for almost an hour asking for directions along the way. The Cafe was hidden away amongst factories, warehouses, and a high school. But it was worth every minute of our trek. We had wonderful sandwiches for lunch but the pastries and chocolates took me back to the days I lived in Vienna. No exaggeration.
Imagine how pleased we were to discover Thomas Haas had opened a cafe at 2539 Broadway in the Kitsilano area. Easy to reach and just as delicious. Go for a breakfast of cafe latte and a crispy croissant, for lunch enjoy a sandwich and dessert, or for an afternoon snack of chocolates with too many choices to list here. By the way, we found Thomas Haas chocolates available at Urban Fair grocery stores.
This is a no brainer must visit. WARNING, the cafe is closed Sundays and Mondays don't be disappointed. But if you are lucky to might even run into Thomas Haas.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jadranko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Try their double baked croissants”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Huge lineup and it's impossible to get a table. My friends and I sat outside, squeezed into a tiny table. I bought a box of chocolates because my friends told me Thomas Haas supply their chocolates to the White House/the Obama family. Their chocolates were good but I think their double baked chocolate croissants are better. Their hot chocolate is also amazing - it's the real stuff with real cocoa, not the cheap powder crap.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank silly2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good desserts but very crowded!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Heard of thomas hass as he is the best pastry chef in the city! Yes it's true the deserts are amazing and same with the coffee. The downer is that there is always a huge line up to order and ver few tables to sit and enjoy your deserts and if u do get a table your surrounded by a huge line up by the door. Other then that if its a nice sunny day and u go early get yourself a table outside and you will enjoy the experience much better then to feel like your in a high school cafeteria.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Domicake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thomas Haas also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Thomas Haas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing