We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A true find for staying in Vancouver”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden House Floor Plan The Relaxing Sound of Water Falling Into the Pond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
15 reviews
Garden House Floor Plan
The Relaxing Sound of Water Falling Into the Pond
The shades are down for the night.
Entrance
Living Room
Kitchen From Living Room
Office & Ding Area
Hallway and Bathroom
View Into Bedroom From Doorway
Bedroom, Closet
Bedroom with Exterior Window
A Reading Lamp for Each Reader
Summer Apples - Almost Ready for Picking
Bathroom
Shower
Looking Out From Kitchen
The couch folds out into a queen sized bed for two.
Garden View From Front Enterance
View of Garden
Outdoor Chairs and Table on Patio
Garden Pond
Garden Pathway
Garden House and Entry Gate
Your Hosts - Carole & Gary
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Vancouver, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland...
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A true find for staying in Vancouver”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

The earlier positive reviews for the Garden House are accurate and helpful. We were pleased with having a wonderful, private residence in a lovely, safe community for two weeks. Carole and Gary are lovely hosts, and we appreciate their generosity and thoughtfulness. Carole suggested we take in the Chan Center on the UBC campus and it was the highlight of our trip. Besides all the earlier positive comments, I would like to express again how functional and well equipped the kitchen is. There was plenty of room to put our groceries....in fact the storage areas and closets in the whole house helped keep us organized and neat! Carole's artwork was a spectacular addition to the modern layout. Our sincere thanks to Carole and Gary, two very interesting people!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: It was a safe and beautiful neighborhood.
Liked least: That we had to leave!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments "Portland Yogi"! Carole and I enjoyed having you as guests in the Garden House and are more than pleased that you found the accommodation so, well, accommodating.

Come back soon :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farcloser
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great little spot in Vancouver”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a pleasant stay for 1 week at the Vancouver Garden House, a converted art studio in the back of Gary Sills house. It is in an urban setting just east of West Vancouver, a location making trips into the downtown core quick and easy. The unit, which is a one bedroom apartment, is fairly new and nicely appointed - full kitchen with new appliances, large shower, LCD TV with HD, printer for use with your own laptop, and a small deck with propane grill. Due to a large apple tree shading much of the yard there is almost no sun when sitting on the deck, but the yard is very serene. There is a rectangular pond along the front of the building with water recirculating that sounds like a bathtub filling constantly, but you get used to it. My only real complaint would be the tiny bathroom sink. It's the smallest sink I have ever seen (outside of a boat) and made shaving, brushing teeth and washing your face a challenge. Other than that, we enjoyed staying here very much, and would likely return on our next visit to Vancouver [especially if Gary replaced the bathroom sink! :) ].

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Privacy
Liked least: the tiny bathroom sink
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2012
Carole and I are very happy that your stay in the Garden House was enjoyable and most pleasant. We hear you about the sink! So we are adding a full sized sink, vanity and mirror in the bedroom. This will make shaving and makeup preps so much easier and useful for all our guests. It was wonderful meeting you both and we are looking forward to your return visit someday soon. :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter007...
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Home from home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely, comfortable and very well equipped house with comfortable bed. Gary and Carole made us very welcome and even supplied umbrellas as the weather was a bit unkind to us. Highly recommended and a great central base for your stay in Vancouver.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The very well equipped and comfortable accommodation
Liked least: Situated a little too close to the owners home.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2012
Thank you Rosemary and Frazer. We very much enjoyed having you stay with us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmen F
Basel, Basel-Stadt, Switzerland
2 reviews
“We enjoyed our stay so much, felt so at home, the Garden house is perfect in every sense!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

We enjoyed our stay in Vancouver so much, and it has a lot to do with our stay at Gary and Carole's lovely Garden House.

First of all, they are the most gracious, considerate, easy going hosts. They were so kind, helpful and a real lovely couple. The whole property is so beautiful, and harmonious, great neighborhood, the Main St. area is perfect for young couples, or with children. We didn't need to rent a car and could walk to grocery stores, a HUGE variety of restaurant choices, artsy, trendy stores, bistros, designer kitchen stores, salon, the best barber shop according to my husband. There are playgrounds near by. Bus line that goes downtown is minutes away, The cherry blossoms were in full bloom where we were there. We were so inspired and felt right at home. We could've move here.

The Garden house is very spacious, impeccably clean. The kitchen is brand new, with everything a house wife could ask for, all in great quality, Actually the whole place is newly renovated and tastefully decorated with art work. I really like that they use all organic cleaning detergents, the kitchen and living area is open, and has very high ceiling with beautiful floor. There is a computer desk, thoughtfully included a printer.

The bedroom has a very big wall closet, it accommodated our very big luggages:) even with lots of space left. Everything in the Garden House is carefully thought through. Without say, it has a really lovely garden. We LOVED the pond's musical water sound, I felt like we were by the lake and our daughter especially LOVED it...she were playing fishing and find it amusing. Whenever we could, we sat on our little patio. And this is just perfect for family. After a whole day being out, we could come home and let the children still be outside. Not lock in a room if we were staying in a hotel.

It is very private, we had our own entrance, no one could hear if your children is being loud. The way Carole planted in her garden, one really have privacy. They are such a nice couple. They gave us many useful tips for our trip. They even invited us for a dinner, we had wonderful conversations and had the pleasure to hear Gary performed on his piano, we really became friends:) We really miss our time there. Thank you so much for your great hospitality!!

We would highly recommend this lovely place to anyone who is looking to spend a calm and harmonious time yet, perfectly located for exploring and enjoy all the amazing things Vancouver has to offer.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The hosts, the kitchen, the garden, location
Liked least: bathroom sink, a little too small..but sure they will change that.
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 17, 2012
We were very happy to have had you and Nils and little Nica stay in the Garden House. Carole and I hope that you return someday or maybe we might show up in Basel! Thank you so much.

Gary and Carole
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AB
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

5 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
4 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 14, 2012
Thank you so much Roberta. Carole and I are very happy that your stay was comfortable and enjoyable and we look forward to having you stay with us again - soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
California
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$624
/
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing