We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Macarons”

Thierry Chocolaterie Patisserie Cafe
Ranked #2 of 76 Bakeries in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Voted "Best Desserts" and "Best Pastries" in Vancouver, Thierry offers a contemporary approach to the finest handcrafted chocolates, macarons, pastries, and desserts. We invite you to join us in our comfortable café, where renowned Pastry Chef Thierry Busset's can often be seen working in his open atelier. Whether you drop by for your morning coffee, a leisurely escape from the nearby shops, or a late night dessert and drink on our licensed patio, Thierry is designed to uplift the spirits.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
“Best Macarons”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

They have the best macarons in downtown vancouver. Recommend salted caramel. Love their lemon tarts and passion fruit tart as well!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jho2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    83
    33
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Awesome pastries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Always love stopping by Thierry. I think that they are of the best pastry places in town. What I love the most is their chocolate drink. If you love chocolate and are a chocoholic, you will love their chocolate drink.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank antoniod506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
186 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Awesome patisserie and chocolaterie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We ran into Thierry totally by chance. We were walking up Georgia St. after returning from Stanley Park, and there were no gelato shops. We made one turn to the right and walked up Alberni St. and luckily we found Thierry.

As you can see the chocolaterie and patisserie is a sight for the senses. They have a wide array of baked goods, cookies, macarons, and ice cream or sorbet. Lastly, they make specialty coffees like B-52s, flavored liquid chocolates and handmade sodas. Why does it seem like most food is better in other countries?!: 5 Stars.

I chose a blueberry tart and coconut sorbet (I initially chose pistachio ice cream, but they ran out). The blueberry tart was insane!!! The blueberries were super plump and the crust was to die for!!! 5+++ Stars. The sorbet was also excellent. The coconut flavor really came through compared to sorbets at the market: 5 Stars.

Unfortunately, the service was spotty. The cashier said they had pistachio, when they did not. My friend's chocolate ice cream was just sitting on the counter melting when we figured out they didn't have pistachio. In addition, our table had not been wiped down: 2.5 Stars.

Despite the spotty service, Thierry is a very good patisserie and a unique chocolaterie. The place was buzzing on a Sat afternoon around 2 pm.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
167 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Gorgeous little jewel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Thierry transports you to France from the busy streets of Vancouver. It has a lovely little sidewalk patio where you can linger with your excellent coffee and pastries. The shop's sweets and savory selections, including sandwiches and soups, are perfect and delicious. They have wonderful chocolates and other sophisticated concoctions like macaroons in interesting flavors. I visited for breakfast both days I was staying near Thierry.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marci B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“nice ambience and desserts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We went there at 9 pm. We are not a big fan of Macrons. So we tried trio chocolate cake and tiramisu. And Spiked Spanish coffee. The Spanish coffee and the chocolate were amazing. Tiramisu was good too but we like the trio better.
It’s a nice little place, nice crowd.. were serving fast. The tables are close by but we did not mind it. The patio is good place to sit and watch all the people walking by. It’s open until midnight. We had 9 yrs old with us and no problem. Will definitely go there again.
The place is little pricey.. but won't mind spending again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Funny_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thierry Chocolaterie Patisserie Cafe also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Thierry Chocolaterie Patisserie Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing