We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service with great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mahony & Sons Pub

Mahony & Sons Pub
Reserve with OpenTable
Mahony & Sons Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #160 of 3,706 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, British, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Burrard Street
Transit: Waterfront Station (Bus/Seabus/Skytrain)
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service with great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

A very enjoyable early evening meal after a 12.5 hr flight. Although very busy, we were ushered to an outdoor table within seconds of arrival. Great location with pleasant service and excellent food., Good portions and well presented. Outdoor area perfect for views out to harbor and across to Canada Place Pier. We returned a week later for brunch, however unfortunately were too early for 11am opening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivienne26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    219
    105
    29
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Co. Tyrone
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting over looking Fraser river”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

A lovely restaurant to sit and people watch and also take in all the activity on the river with sea planes taking off and landing. Great outdoor seating area. I had an appetiser only which was good and a glass of wine. Staff friendly

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank g0lfer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
113 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Come for the view, and the food, leave because of the service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

The Irish stew hit the spot, but the rest of the meal was unremarkable. Service was slow, and they forgot the appetizer we ordered. The view is wonderful from the patio, but does little to offset the poor service. I would return, but would not expect anything stellar.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank plucky017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
163 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent service and a good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had coffee at Mahony's on a Sunday morning and found it rather noisy due to some young lads. However we went back for lunch later and had a very good meal at a reasonable price. The soft drinks were also refilled free of charge so a bargain. This pub is at Canada Place where the cruise ships dock and can be very busy but I would recommend it for the good service and excellent food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ValSurreyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raynham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The place is nice as it faces the waterfront but the food is very average. It is an Irish pub but there is nothing special about it. It definitely feels like a chain restaurant with nothing special I the menu.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DD288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahony & Sons Pub also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Mahony & Sons Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing