We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place we stayed in Canada” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge Vancouver Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge Vancouver Hotel
Ranked #41 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best place we stayed in Canada”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2009

This was the best hotel we stayed at whilst travelling around Alberta and BC.
I think we got lucky and had the best room for about £100 a night: it was on the 12th floor (top floor for the hotel bit) and looked out across the harbour. The bed was big, the room spacious and clean, and the facilities (including microwave and fridge) were excellent.
Initially not sure where to park (it's behind the hotel where you see a green sign pointing to the underground public car park!), and had to pay for parking, but it IS downtown Vancouver!
A block back from the harbour, the hotel is right in the heart of everything with Gastown and Chinatown being just a short walk.
The best feature though is their 25m pool on the third floor overlooking the harbour: stunning!
As is typical of these sorts of establishments, on-site dining/drinking was pricey, but with so many economical choices on your doorstep, you've no reason to actually eat at the hotel.
Definitely recommend this place

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msprichj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    157
    41
    11
    12
See reviews for
81
201
32
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
greenville,sc
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2009

We had a two night pre-cruise stay and were given a free upgrade to a suite overlooking the waterfront. great accomodations and impecable service. Staff was friendly courteous and extremely helpful. Hotel is one block from Canada Center the main waterfront location. easy walk to trolley service for city tours and on your own exploration. The grill and outside dining at the hotel was convenient and very good food. Other restaraunts and coffee shop close by. Two blocks from Gas town.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank texasinsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2009

We wanted a quiet, comfortable hotel close to a nice area, with a pool. This hotel is only about a block fromthe waterfront, and 50 metres from Howe St, with classy shops. Pool is beautiful with a view over the harbour to the mountains. Easy to get to Gastown, Chinatown, Stanley Park, numerous cafes and bars. Feels like a brand new hotel, but has retained all the aspects of the 100-year-old club. We didn't eat there so can't comment on the restaurants or room service.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brollywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

We spent 4 nights at the Terminal City Club Tower Hotel in August and we could not have had a better experience. We booked our room through Hotwire (so the rate was terrific), but we expected to be given a small, no-view sort of a room. Instead we had a beautiful, large king-bed room, with a great view of city and harbor. The hotel staff were consistently helpful and accommodating. The amenities were also top notch. We very much appreciated the bucket of ice and water, delivered to the room each afternoon. We also enjoyed the pool, which has one of the best views in Vancouver, as well as the excellent sauna/steam room facilities. This is a marvelous hotel!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbarasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

Knowing little about Vancouver when we booked our hotel we really lucked out. You really could not ask for a better location if staying in the city. It is the cleanest and safest area of downtown, only a block away from the water and VERY close to everything you need.

Only disappointment: The website INCORRECTLY boasts that each room has either a harbor or city view. As soon as we got to our room, I threw open the curtains to see which one we had but discovered we had neither- we were facing the wall of the building next to us! However, we did get the room for a steal on Hotwire.com so they probably gave us the crappy view on purpose.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NJMiranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2009

Great place and just a few minutes walk from the cruise terminal.The hotel is wonderful, clean rooms and received a friendly greeting the minute you walked through the door. we did not use any of the facilities offered. We took the shuttle from the airport and you are only a couple of minutes from drop off to the hotel. Gas town and lots of eating places are just a few minutes walk from the hotel.Very convenient for tourists. We would definately stay here again and would highly recommend this hotel. Great place

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annbobSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2009

I really enjoyed my stay at the Terminal City Tower Hotel. We booked through Hotwire, and it was a great deal. The location was very nice.....very close to the Canada Place dock and also to Gastown, where we ate at couple of nights....I would recommend Guu with Otokomae in Gastown for fun atmosphere and great Japanese tapas. Also lots of tourist/souvenir shops there and the 'steam clock'. It was a short walk to the Pacific Center mall, Vancouver Art Gallery and shopping on Robson street.

The hotel was very classy. There were only 10-12 rooms per floor. For the most part, the hotel was very quiet. One night the room next to us was very loud, but I only heard them when they were in the hallway. As soon as their door was shut it was silent.

The room was very large and plush. The bed and pillows were very comfortable---the floor to ceiling windows were great, and we had a very nice view of the city. I slept very well each night. The decor was stylish and the bedding was very nice. The kitchenette was handy and we used the mini-fridge and the microwave. We had plenty of coffee and tea to pick from in the room. The bathroom toiletries were also very nice. The bathroom wasn't huge, but was plenty for us. The free wireless internet was also a plus, although I was a bit wary of the internet security. I also liked getting free bottled water and chocolates each day.

The 'club' pool and hot tub were also very pleasant. It was very quiet and clean and had windows with great views. The pool was setup mostly for lap swimming (not really for kids) and had pool 'exercise' equipment you could use (kickboards, etc). The pool was treated with ozone, so there wasn't a strong chlorine smell (although I think the hot tub had chlorine...) The locker area was very classy and the sauna and steam room seemed nice, although we didn't us them. They had towels to use and the front desk was very friendly. My only complaint was that the pool/fitness area closed at 10 pm.

The other minor complaint I have is that some of the front desk staff seemed a bit snooty. One guy was very friendly and helpful, but another was not. The security staff did watch our luggage when we checked in at 11 am before our room was ready, which allowed us to explore for a while.

Overall the location, decor, comfort of the beds, views and pool make this place great. I would recommend it to those looking for a quiet, classy place to stay downtown close to Gastown, Canada Place and other attractions.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jk2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,302 reviews
Downtown
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastown
Delta Hotels by Marriott Vancouver Suites
Downtown
Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront
Downtown
Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Vancouver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Vancouver Hotel

Property: Auberge Vancouver Hotel
Address: 837 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 1B6, Canada (Formerly The Hotel at Terminal City Club)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#36 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#37 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge Vancouver Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of downtown, just steps away from the Waterfront, Auberge Vancouver (formerly The Terminal City Club Hotel) is a luxury boutique hotel situated in a vibrant, urban environment. Surrounded by fine restaurants, unique shops and contemporary galleries, we hope to provide a truly memorable experience for the discerning leisure and business traveller alike, in an exceptional setting. A stunning view of the water, impeccable service, deluxe amenities and of course, elegant and spacious accommodations are only a few of the features that make Auberge Vancouver so exceptional. This truly unique property exudes quiet sophistication, yet it is a modern oasis. Our commitment is to ensure that you will enjoy an unforgettable stay. Come and be our guest; an unparalleled experience is waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Auberge Vancouver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terminal City Hotel
Terminal City Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing