We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a classy little hidden gem!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge Vancouver Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge Vancouver Hotel
Ranked #40 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
156 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“What a classy little hidden gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2009

This was a mix business/leisure trip and we pick Terminal City Club because of its proximity to the convention centre. It was a great choice as this is truly an amazing place to stay. Being a private club, it is quiet and has low traffic (unlike the two more expensive hotels closer to the convention centre). The suite we were in was spacious and very comfortable. I did not get a chance to use the health club/pool, but according to my partner it was stunning.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BoywonderTo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    157
    41
    11
    12
See reviews for
81
201
32
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2009

Stayed at the Terminal City Hotel for 8 nights in December and had a fantastic stay. The hotel staff were friendly, courteous and very helpful. Could find no fault with our room, which overlooked the city and harbour - great views. The rooms were spacious and comfortable with little touches making all the difference to our stay. Having bottles of water, chocolates and ice delivered in the afternoon were great touches to our enjoyment at staying at this hotel. The rooms were also very quiet at night which ensured a good night's sleep. The leisure facilities were also excellent with a great pool for individuals who actually enjoy swimming and not just messing about in the water. Another bonus was that there were no children to spoil the whole experience. Great location, close to the harbour, Skytrain, Stanley Park and shopping. Will have no hesitation in booking this hotel again should I have the opportunity to go back to Vancouver.

  • Liked — Rooms were spacious, well equipped with kitchenette and quiet.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Dinah1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2008

great hotel - nicely situated in downtown Vancouver, close to the seawall, in the financial district, not far from Gastown. West Hastings St is very clean and nice, which is very different to East Hastings street which is pretty run down and where the homeless seem to have taken over.

Rooms are clean and spacious with view of the financial district (great at night when all lit up). The BIG plus is the access to the private health club facilities : great pool, squash courts, gym etc. Outstanding, the kids loved the pool at the end of a day visiting beautiful BC!

The hotel staff were generally very friendly and helpful, and were easy to deal with on the phone for reservations etc. This is obviously a nice hotel for business visitors to Vancouver, but for us it was a good base from which to visit Vancouver and the surrounding areas. Even parking was not a problem as the underground car park gives direct access to the hotel lobby. We didn't try the restaurant, which looked pretty good, but there are lots of cafés and restaurants in the surrounding streets (try breakfast at Scoozis Mediterannean eatery just around the corner on Howe St - delicious French toast & deep dish !).

  • Liked — health club
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LesTonus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2008

Please see my pictures to see what the rooms look like. This hotel is within walking distance to the cruise ship terminal and shopping areas. During our stay there was an underground fire in the city and most places lost their electricity. This hotel has its own generator so it was a great place to be. Other people were trying to get rooms there and we were glad to not have to worry. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. The rooms were clean and nice.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank YourConcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2008

I stayed here for one night and thought it was a great hotel for a quiet night. They have free internet and room service which was great for a business traveller.
Extremely quiet location and nice views of the city.
The parking is a bit confusing as there is not a place to park your car and check in. You have to park underground and then go up and check in which was a bit backwards. As well, when I checked out the front desk didn't ask me how my stay was which I thought was unusual.
However, I would choose this hotel again because it didn't seem overrun with tourists etc and ideal for business travellers.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ac1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2008

This is a perfect hotel if you like space, comfort and peace and quiet. We had a one bedroom suite and although we'd only booked a city view our room was on the side of the hotel so we had a lovely sea view from the sitting room and the bedroom. Both rooms were spacious and very well furnished. The bed was very comfortable and even the sofa bed had a proper firm mattress. Bathroom was small but fine. We never heard a single noise from elsewhere in the hotel and the traffic noise was just a distant humm and not a bother.
It is first and foremost a club so very posh and the reception staff can be a bit snooty but everyone was very efficient and the porter couldn't have been more helpful. The pool and fitness facilities are absolutely wonderful with glorious views. There is free internet access off the library.
Housekeeping was very good. We never like to get up too early when on holiday and, by the time we'd had breakfast in the room, it was often after ten before we left the room but we were never disturbed and our room was always made up when we arrived back. Someone comes around every afternoon with bottled water and to fill up the ice bucket which is very convenient.
The only small quibble would be that, although the suite had a small kitchen area there were no dishes or cutlery supplied when we first arrive. There was a note to say that if we wanted anything just to ring reception and they did bring dishes, etc. up as soon as we rang but it would be nicer if they were just there and you didn't have to ask.
The hotel is perfectly situation - just up from the waterfront and within easy walking distance of Stanley Park, the city and Gastown. We enjoyed the Water Street Cafe in Gastown and Wild Rice which is worth going to for the food even though it is a bit of a seedy area.
One thing that had worried us before we went to Vancouver was that several people had commented on the number of panhandlers on the streets and we thought it might not be safe to wander around at night. I must say that we never felt nervous. We were only approached a couple of times and Vancouver must have the politest beggers in the world.

  • Liked — location, suite, pool
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2007

Stayed in the hotel before going on a cruise. This hotel is in great location, just a block from the ship terminal. We had a room with 2 very comfortable beds on the 10th floor with a beautiful view. The room was very clean and tastefully decorated. The concierge was friendly and very helpful with suggestions for bus tours and places to see in a short time. I would recommend it and stay there again.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank NewYorkMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,302 reviews
Downtown
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastown
Delta Hotels by Marriott Vancouver Suites
Downtown
Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront
Downtown
Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Vancouver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Vancouver Hotel

Property: Auberge Vancouver Hotel
Address: 837 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 1B6, Canada (Formerly The Hotel at Terminal City Club)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#36 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#37 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge Vancouver Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of downtown, just steps away from the Waterfront, Auberge Vancouver (formerly The Terminal City Club Hotel) is a luxury boutique hotel situated in a vibrant, urban environment. Surrounded by fine restaurants, unique shops and contemporary galleries, we hope to provide a truly memorable experience for the discerning leisure and business traveller alike, in an exceptional setting. A stunning view of the water, impeccable service, deluxe amenities and of course, elegant and spacious accommodations are only a few of the features that make Auberge Vancouver so exceptional. This truly unique property exudes quiet sophistication, yet it is a modern oasis. Our commitment is to ensure that you will enjoy an unforgettable stay. Come and be our guest; an unparalleled experience is waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Auberge Vancouver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terminal City Hotel
Terminal City Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing