We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than what I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auberge Vancouver Hotel
Ranked #39 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Less than what I expected”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Pros: Nice location. If you don't get breakfast, don't worry, there are many choices nearby. Internet was free. You get a nice flat TV, microwave, fridge and coffee maker. Polite staffs.
Cons: I was in 11th floor and the view was not that good, and it was noisy from the air conditioning and fans outside window. The room had a dull design, and the least they can do is to put blue paint on a wall, like the one on their website. Bring your own socket converter. At the time of checkout the bellman was not there.
Suggestion: The best thing about this hotel was the location. I suggest the hotels that are located a bit far from Robson St. and Georgia St., because the engines sound will wake up few times each night. Don't even think about East Hastings St.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamid878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    172
    49
    12
    13
See reviews for
95
222
32
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I first visited this establishment in 1988 when it WAS a Gentleman's Club. It was impressive.
Since then, it has been rebuilt and is a multi use building as other reviewers have noted, and they all fit into the jig saw very well.
It's quirky, because when you visit for the first time, you might find it a bit of a challenge navigating from the underground parkade to the hotel lobby. Seasoned travellers won't panic though, they'll just make sure they find the way.
The lobby is grand and shared by all users. Most hotels accentuate the lobby and this one does not disappoint.
Once you enter the elevators to the rooms, you are separated from other users of the building. The condos in the building have their own elevators, and all other facilities are in a different part of the building, so the rooms are quiet. This hotel caters to quiet people.
There is still an air of the Gentleman's Club when you enter the room, which is finished to a high quality. There is a fridge, a sink, glasses, cutlery etc., so it's a bit more like home than some other high end hotels. I like to think of it as quintessential luxury. A home away from home.
Go past the registration/check in desk, up a half flight of stairs and you're on the level where there is an intimate bar, where you can also eat. The full scale restaurant is also on this level. Dress code in effect, or it certainly used to be.
There is a classy billiards hall on the mezzanine level for Club Members and registered guests. Full size billiard tables. You can get there by elevator or by a rather grand wide staircase. Definitely a link to the past.
The Grill is on the Mezzanine level too, although it was closed for renovations when I stayed there last night. Breakfast is normally served here, with views out towards the harbour. Lunch and dinner are also available here (when it's open). The meals and drinks here used to be extremely competitively priced a few years ago, but I suspect that this aspect may have changed.
Function rooms are also available on this level.
The staff are quietly efficient and some that I see, I recognize as having worked there for quite a long time. This in itself tells a story.
I like this hotel. It's my "go to" place whenever I go to Vancouver and need to stay overnight.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilveryMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE-England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Great hotel with character: it's a club, an office block, a city gym and a hotel. Room was stylish and very comfortable, especially the bed. Problem with fridge was fixed immediately. Cutlery and crockery plus extra coffee supplies were also supplied at amazing speed following a quick phone call. The gym and pool (with a view) are excellent if a little difficult to find, and the changing area is impressive. The location is very convenient especially for the cruise ship terminal and the reception staff were very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKSoutherner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCCLUB, Director of Sales at Auberge Vancouver Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear UKSoutherner,
Thank you for your wonderful review. You did take in everything we offer - a Club, office space, city gym and of course, the hotel.
We are happy that you found the service efficient as this was an improvement we have been working on.
When you return to Vancouver, we do hope to welcome you back.
Sincerely,
Noni Bruyere
Director of Sales and Marketing
The Hotel at Terminal City Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Remarkably good value for this luxurious hotel right in the heart of Vancouver; has the feel of an English gentlemans club but is more modern; loved the library and Internet office and the floor mats by the lift which reminded you which day of the week it was! I would recommend this hotel highly.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KoreenHubbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCCLUB, Director of Sales at Auberge Vancouver Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear KoreenHubbard,

I love that you describe the feeling of the Club as an English Gentlemans Club, which we actually do try to exude.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel at Terminal City Club, Vancouver BC.

Thank you,
Noni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed for two nights at the start of our Canada / Alaska trip and arriving late from the uk was pleased to see some help for luggage and a smiling guy on the front desk As this place is also a residence I wasn't sure what to expect coming in after 8pm on a Sunday but was reassured!

Just a quick tip - if you do arrive late and hungry DO NOT visit the Chinese around the corner. Atrocious and expensive. Though the ice cream parlour almost next door is one of the best in the world - seriously. Instead do a left and a right facing front from the hotel and eat at Scoozis - see other reviews on all these later.

Anyway back to the hotel. The room was fine though a little small but for the price in an excellent location so I cannot complain (city is all around you and close enough to the cruise terminal to walk unless you carrying an absolute ton of baggage - if you are cruising then pacific hotel is probably worth the extra). The room has a microwave sink etc but no cutlery or plates which is a bit odd. The standout feature for me was the Swimming pool which is brilliant with a view of the city and the harbour the gym next to it also has the same view.

I didn't use any of the restaurants but did have a nose around them and they looked fine with pretty good menus and reasonable prices.

Overall the feel of the hotel was a little sterile and masculine with dark tones everywhere and even a couple of Aston martins bizarrely parked in the lobby and you certainly did get the impression that it was hotel second.

I dont regret staying here and have no complaints with my stay but I think I'd probably pay the extra and stay at the pan pacific next time.

Room Tip: You are set back a little from the harbour but go for higher if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leebod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We enjoyed this nice hotel, it's location, and modern decor. The only down side is the high parking fees that seem to be a necessity of this town. The hotel is easy to get to and from. We would tell everyone to take some reasonable transportation to Stanley park because to park there is 10 dollars a day. That is just excessive for a public park

Room Tip: Some rooms have a bit of view of the water and it was a highlight
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarad32530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Terminal City Club hotel is a delight. Small and personal and ideally situated to allow easy walking access to most of city. The staff are attentive, professional and responsive. I won't let you in on our favorite room as we will be returning and don't want to find it unavailable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KyGuy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
1,551 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
3,279 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
2,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Vancouver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Vancouver Hotel

Property: Auberge Vancouver Hotel
Address: 100-837 Hastings St W, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 1B6, Canada (Formerly The Hotel at Terminal City Club)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#33 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#36 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#37 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge Vancouver Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of downtown, just steps away from the Waterfront, Auberge Vancouver (formerly The Terminal City Club Hotel) is a luxury boutique hotel situated in a vibrant, urban environment. Surrounded by fine restaurants, unique shops and contemporary galleries, we hope to provide a truly memorable experience for the discerning leisure and business traveller alike, in an exceptional setting. A stunning view of the water, impeccable service, deluxe amenities and of course, elegant and spacious accommodations are only a few of the features that make Auberge Vancouver so exceptional. This truly unique property exudes quiet sophistication, yet it is a modern oasis. Our commitment is to ensure that you will enjoy an unforgettable stay. Come and be our guest; an unparalleled experience is waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auberge Vancouver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terminal City Hotel
Terminal City Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing